Contact Information
About This Page
The sources on this page provide access to newspaper content from the relatively recent past (approximately 1980 and later.)
There is some overlap with the sources in recent and historic newspaper databases. This overlap can range from one or two years to 20 or 30 years.
For availability of a particular title:
- Search Library Search
- Look at source lists within a particular database
- Ask for help
Recent Newspapers Databases
- NexisUniFull-text access to news, business, medical, educational and legal sources. The sources include international, national, and regional newspapers; magazines; trade journals; newsletters; wire service reports; and transcripts of television and radio news programs.
- FactivaOnline access to thousands of news and business sources, including domestic and foreign newspapers, Reuters and Dow Jones newswires. Only place to access recent years of the Wall Street Journal online.
- Access World NewsAccess World News coverage includes domestic newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, transcripts, and broadcasts, including 16 Georgia newspapers. All titles are the full electronic version of record. CLICK ON THE LINK "THE WORLD" TO SEE NEWS SOURCES FROM AROUND THE WORLD.
- Ethnic NewsWatchFull text U. S. newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses, searchable in English and Spanish. Search tip: Hit the "Select Multiple Databases" link to select both current (1990-present) and historical (1960-1989) versions of this database.
Online Archives
Many Woodruff Library researchers are often interested in getting newspaper articles via the Internet. The library subscribes to a large number of these newspapers, which you may access by clicking on the links above.
Some papers also offer access to online archives of their articles via their websites, but they often charge a fee and rarely have articles older than the late 1980s or early 1990s. A quick way to find out if a newspaper has an archive, how far back it goes, and whether they charge for using it is to check the somewhat outdated but still relevant US News Archives on the Web site.