Libraries.emory.edu
Secondary Sources
-
Handbooks & CompanionsReference sources written by scholars.
-
WorldCatWorld catalog that allows you to search across libraries for materials that Emory may not have.
-
LibrarySearchEmory's catalog of books, journals, media sources, etc.
-
Academic JournalsRecommended databases of scholarly journals for history.
Primary Sources: Types and Formats
Primary sources are characterized by their content, regardless of whether they are available in original, microfilm/microfiche, digital format, or published format. Below are several lists of primary sources types which range from oral histories to government documents to manuscript collections.
Primary Sources: Find & Discover
Where you search for materials depends on what you're searching. Are you looking for originals held in an archive (such as the Rose Library), reprinted sources (including microfilm), or digitized sources?
Original Sources
-
EmoryFindingAidsSearch for archival materials at Emory.
-
ArchiveGridSearch for archival collections from across the United States.
Printed (or reprinted) Material and Microfilm
-
LibrarySearchSearch for printed primary sources such as autobiographies, memoirs, government documents and reprinted sources such as correspondence or diaries.
Digitized Sources
-
A-Z Database ListSearch the A-Z database list for primary source collections.
-
Library GuidesSearch Emory Library guides or search for your topic and the term 'libguide' on the open web.
Primary Sources: Search Strategies
Use boolean searching, phrase searching, and wild cards to narrow your search. Here are several guides with search tips:
Database Mapping
Librarians often know where to find databases because they work to acquire them for the library. They also know the right words to search for to find collections on the open web. Click on the student number distributed at the beginning of class to find a starter list of databases suggestions related to your topic.