Books and Scores at Emory
Use Library Search to search Emory's catalog for books, e-books, scores, e-scores, and other materials.
Here is one example of how to construct a search:
Find Books and Scores Online
- Classical Scores Library This link opens in a new windowClassical Scores Library contains more than 50,000 complete scores, ranging from the middle ages to the present, all of which can be viewed online or printed. The collection contains over 20,000 works from the 20th and 21st century, many of which are still under copyright and not readily available elsewhere online. Includes full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions.
- Recent Researches in Music Online This link opens in a new windowA database of critical, scholarly performing editions of thousands of musical scores. The collection spans the history of Western music. Most of the seven series are devoted to works by a single composer or in a single genre.
- Score Follower Library This link opens in a new windowA faceted search tool to the archive of Score Follower videos. These videos (hosted on YouTube) follow notated music while the viewer hears the sound recording.
- IMSLP / Petrucci Music LibraryA major source for scores in the public domain.
- Choral Public Domain LibraryScores created by individual contributors and generally available free with attribution.
- UCLA Contempory Scores CollectionThousands of open access scores from contemporary composers.
- Google BooksFind thousands of books complete online. Search the full text of everything Google has scanned. Where the complete text isn't available, use the built-in tool to find the nearest library holding the title.
- HathiTrust This link opens in a new windowAccess a large digital library of materials from sources including Google Books, the Internet Archive, libraries at HathiTrust partner institutions, and other commercial digitization projects. You may need to Click the "Log In" button and choose "Emory University" from the drop-down menu. Select "continue" and then enter your EID and password when prompted. The mobile version of HathiTrust allows online reading and download of public domain books from mobile devices. The HathiTrust is a partnership of more than 80 major academic and research libraries.
Index to Printed Music
- Index to Printed Music This link opens in a new windowA tool for finding musical scores of compositions published in scholarly editions and in series. SEARCH TIP: Separate different types of terms with and, e.g., Beethoven and string quartets and op. 59; Mozart and k451. IPM provides citations. For more information on IPM, see http://www.ipmusic.org/index.php.
About Call Numbers
Emory uses the Library of Congress Classification System. Musical scores and books about music have call numbers beginning with:
- M for scores
- ML for music literature
- MT for instruction and study.
And are arranged by subject within each call number range. Posters with these subjects are found throughout the Music and Media Library.
Media call numbers are cataloged by accession number, meaning each new item receives the next number in the series; in other words, the older the item, the smaller the number. At Emory, these media series start with:
- CD for compact disc
- DISC for LP (vinyl) phonodiscs
- DVD for DVDs
CDs check out to students for 14 days, and LPs and most DVDs in the lending collection check out to students for 3 days.
Books & Scores at Other Libraries (Interlibrary Loan)
If you can't find a resource at Emory, try looking for the source using WorldCat, a shared catalog for many libraries in the US and around the world. If you find it on WorldCat (or sometimes even if you cannot), you can request the resource through Emory's Interlibrary Loan.