ANT 201: Concepts & Methods in Biological Anthropology

The ICPSR is one of the largest archives of quantitative data in the world, including more than 500,000 research files. Its holdings cover a myriad of topics and include many health-themed data collections.

A World Bank site with much international/comparative time-series data on health indicators, as well as on various economic and demographic/population measures. Bulk downloads of HNPStats data are available at http://data.worldbank.org/data-catalog/health-nutrition-and-population-statistics.

Contains data tables with age and gender breakdowns for mortality and life expectancy in many countries (requires free registration; data largely from the OECD). The site also provides links to related external sites.

NAHDAP acquires, preserves and disseminates data relevant to drug addiction and HIV research (hosted by ICPSR).

An archive of over 300 data sets covering a variety of topic areas such as Adolescent Pregnancy, Aging, AIDS/STD's, the American Family, Disability in the US, and Maternal Drug Abuse. The archive is well-indexed and allows variable-level searches.

Provides "ready access to substance abuse and mental health research data." The archive contains data for survey series such as the National Survey on Drug Use and Health and Monitoring the Future: A Continuing Study of the Lifestyles And Values Of Youth.

Reports from the UN Development Programme.

Accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 300 surveys in over 90 countries.

The WHO's Mortality Database provides aggregated mortality counts and cause-of-death statistics and (very large) raw data files for more advanced analysis.

WHO portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation -- links to all kinds of data and statistics from countries around the world.

Published annually by WHO. Each year has a different focus (e.g. 2001 on mental health)

The National Family Health Survey (NFHS) is a large-scale, multi-round survey conducted in a representative sample of households throughout India.

A set of surveys designed to gather information at multiple points in time on the labor market activities and other significant life events of several groups of men and women.

NCDS follows the lives of 17,000 people born in England, Scotland and Wales in a single week of 1958. Also known as the 1958 Birth Cohort Study, it collects information on physical and educational development, economic circumstances, employment, family life, health behaviour, wellbeing, social participation and attitudes.

Charting the health of 14,500 families in the Bristol area since the early 1990s.

In response to concerns about the health effects of deployments following the 1991 Gulf War, the Congress and the Institute of Medicine recommended that DoD conduct prospective epidemiological research to evaluate the impact of military exposures, including deployment, on long-term health outcomes (more than 200,000 participants).

A prospective cohort study, started in 2001 monitoring a group of young people from the Northern part of the Netherlands.

The U.S. census counts each resident of the country, where they live on April 1, every ten years ending in zero. The Constitution mandates the enumeration to determine how to apportion the House of Representatives among the states.

An interdisciplinary study of how families, schools, and neighborhoods affect child and adolescent development.

A longitudinal, multi-thematic survey representative of the Mexican population at the national, urban, rural, and regional level.

a nationally representative, multi-topic survey of 41,554 households in 1503 villages and 971 urban neighborhoods across India. The first round of interviews were completed in 2004-5; data are publicly available through ICPSR. A second round of IHDS is reinterviewing these households in 2011-12 to examine changes in an era of rapid economic growth. The second round also adds interviews with young people aged 15-18 to examine the process of transition to adulthood.

A medical research study involving more than 6,000 men and women from six communities in the United States. MESA is sponsored by the National Heart Lung and Blood Institute of the National Institutes of Health.