Need Help?
Encyclopedias and Handbooks
To find additional volumes, search for biological anthropology encyclopedia or handbook as the keyword in the library catalog. There are also reference texts and handbooks covering specific areas of research within biological anthropology so try searching those keywords as well.
Trends in Biological Anthropology, vols 1 and 2 by Publication Date: 2018
Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Human Evolution by Call Number: GN281 .W534 2011Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology by Publication Date: 2004Also available in print, Woodruff Library Reference RA418 .E354 2004.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
A database of annotated bibliographies on a wide range of topics. This is a great place to start familiarizing yourself with the literature in a research area. Below are a few examples that may be of interest for this course and there are many more on the site.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online - AnthropologyGuide to scholarly literature in anthropology, subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.
Websites and Tutorials
Human Evolution and Biology
Non-human Primates
Osteology
- Open ContextFind archaeological, osteological, zooarchaeological data here.
Professional Societies
- American Association of Physical Anthropologists
- American Association of Anthropological Genetics
- American Association for the Advancement of Science
- American Anthropological Association
- British Association for Biological Anthropology and Osteoarchaeology
- Dental Anthropology Association
- Human Biology Association
- Paleoanthropology Society
- Paleopathology Association
- Society for American Archaeology
- Canadian Association for Physical Anthropology