Research Guides: ENGRD101: Utopianism and Commitments to Community: Emory University Student Archives

Emory University Archives

The Emory University Archives collects, organizes, preserves, and provides access to records and materials that document over 180 years of Emory history. The Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archive, and Rare Book Library is the official repository of the records of the university and its affiliated organizations, we collect materials that document the history of Emory, including its founders, administration, faculty, students, and alumni/ae.

Black Student Activism Topic Guide
Resources on student activism around racial justice at Emory University and beyond.
Emory University and Slavery
Emory's Special Collections have identified archival collections and secondary source materials that document and contextualize the University's involvement with slavery. This resource guide is a starting point and will be expanded as more materials are identified.
Emory University History Guide
This guide includes descriptions of resources from Emory University Archives as well as manuscript collections related to the history of Emory University.
Naming Honors Research Guide
Resources providing biographical information and sources for further research into Emory-affiliated figures

Emory Student Archives in Digital Collections

Emory Digital Collections is the digital front door to unique cultural heritage and scholarship collections from Emory University. There are numerous collections regarding student and university life on Emory's campus.

Early Emory College Photographs
The Early Emory College Photographs consist of more than 1,110 still images dating from 1860-1911. The photographs document class members of Emory College in Oxford, Georgia, founded in 1836. The original albumen and silver gelatin photographs were displayed in Seney Hall on the Oxford College campus of Emory University.
Emory Photo/Video Records
Records consist of audiovisual material recorded by Emory Photo/Video of Emory University events.
Emory Report
Emory Report, previously published under the titles Campus Report and Administrative Bulletin, is the official university-wide newsletter for Emory University faculty and staff.
Emory Unit Collection
Contains materials documenting the Emory Unit, a volunteer medical regiment that served during World Wars I and II. Materials include photographs, hospital records, printed material including scrapbooks and newspaper clippings, and memorabilia.
Emory University Alumni Publications
Digitized issues of The Emory Alumnus, Emory Magazine, and other periodicals produced for Emory alumni.
Emory University Course Catalogs and Bulletins
University catalogs are annual publications of the schools that make up Emory University and include curricular information.
Emory University Desegregation Collection
Emory University was officially desegregated in September of 1962 and admitted its first African American undergraduate in the fall of 1963. The collection consists of records documenting the process of desegregation and other events relating to racial issues at Emory. Included are documents summarizing the process of integration; copies of various statements issued by Emory faculty and students; a copy of the Petition for Declaratory Judgment and Injunction to the Superior Court of DeKalb County; accounts of activities surrounding campus racial protests that occurred in 1969 (print and audio); and information concerning more recent events that took place in the 1990s.
Emory University Yearbooks
Emory student yearbooks including Oxford, Emory College, and Emory University.
Emory Wheel Archives
The Emory Wheel is the independent, student-run newspaper of Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia. This collection of digitized issues of the Emory Wheel contains all existing copies of the Wheel in the Emory University Archives from the first issue in 1919 through 2009.