Handbooks and Companions
Afrofuturism by ISBN: 9781588347404Publication Date: 2023-03-21This timely and gorgeously illustrated companion book to an exciting Smithsonian exhibition explores the power of Afrofuturism to reclaim the past and reimagine Black futures Afrofuturism- A History of Black Futures explores the evolving and exhilarating concept of Afrofuturism, a lens used to imagine a more empowering future for the Black community through music, art, and speculative fiction.
The Bloomsbury Handbook to Octavia E. Butler by ISBN: 1350079634Publication Date: 2020-02-20Octavia E. Butler is widely recognized today as one of the most important figures in contemporary science fiction.
Desire and Empathy in Twentieth-Century Dystopian Fiction by ISBN: 3319706748Publication Date: 2018-02-23This book assesses key works of twentieth-century dystopian fiction, including Katharine Burdekin's Swastika Night, George Orwell's Nineteen Eighty-Four, and Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale, to demonstrate that the major authors of this genre locate empathy and morality in eroticism.
The Oxford Handbook of Ecocriticism by ISBN: 9780199742929Publication Date: 2014-08-05The Oxford Handbook of Ecocriticism provides a broad survey of the longstanding relationship between literature and the environment. The moment for such an offering is opportune in many respects: multiple environmental crises are increasingly inescapable at both transnational and local levels; the role of the humanities in addition to technology and politics is increasingly recognized as central for exploring and finding solutions; and the subject of ecocriticism has reached a kind of critical mass, both within its Anglo-American heartlands and beyond.
The Oxford Handbook of Science Fiction by ISBN: 9780199838844Publication Date: 2014-10-01The Oxford Handbook of Science Fiction attempts to descry the historical and cultural contours of SF in the wake of technoculture studies.
The Routledge anthology of climate fiction. Volume oneISBN: 9781032701523The Routledge Anthology of Climate Fiction brings together key works from the Bible to the 20th-century, in an accessible resource for students and teachers alike. With a robust variety of works, including H. G. Wells, Clare Winger Harris, H. P. Lovecraft, Leslie F. Stone, Arthur Conan Doyle, The Routledge Anthology of Climate Fiction offers vital new perspectives and critical introductions all the way back to humanity's earliest surviving literary texts
The Routledge Companion to Gender and Science Fiction by ISBN: 9781003082934Publication Date: 2022-12-30The Routledge Companion to Gender and Science Fiction is the first large-scale reference work of its kind, critically assessing the relations of gender and genre in science fiction, especially--but not exclusively--as explored in speculative art by women and LGBTQ+ artists across the world.
Oxford Bibliographies
Oxford Bibliographies provides faculty and students alike with a seamless pathway to the most accurate and reliable resources for a variety of academic topics. Written and reviewed by academic experts, every article in our database is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations.
Subject Headings
Subject Headings are are index terms that are found in bibliographic records that describe what the resource is about. Subject headings come from controlled vocabularies, so that users can find resources by official subject classifications (from TMC Libraries).