Research Guides: Course Guide for ENG101-22: Black Feminist Writers: Black Writers

Quick Start

On this page you'll find reference resources on Black writers from several different places in Emory Libraries.

You might also check out the African American Studies Research Guide and African American Newspapers Topic Guide for even more information.

Databases

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
Access periodicals by and about African Americans, including academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, bulletins, and more.
Black Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes African American fiction, poetry, and literary criticism appearing in Black owned and edited publications in the United States. Includes the index to Black Literature, 1827-1940, a microfiche collection.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Contains material for black studies including essays, periodicals, reference books, the Schomburg Studies, and more.
Black Studies Center seamlessly integrates the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Black Studies Periodicals Database (formerly IIBP), and full-text access to historical back-files of Chicago Defender from 1935-1975, a prominent black newspaper. The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience consists of commissioned essays by scholars in the field and a collection of primary resources that includes photographs and video clips.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Contains published and unpublished non-fiction writings by black American authors.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online This link opens in a new window
Access biographical and critical essays on the lives, works and careers of the influential literary figures.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook This database is also cross-searchable with the Gale Literature Criticism Online database.
Oxford Bibliographies Online. African American Studies This link opens in a new window
Guide to scholarly literature in the field of African American studies. Subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.

Bibliographies

Below are a few bibliographic entries from Oxford Bibliographies on Black writers and African American literature. Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.

African American Cinema

Black Middle Class

Black Women Writers in the United States

Frances Ellen Watkins Harper

James Baldwin

Langston Hughes

Zora Neale Hurston

Literature, Slavery, and Colonization

Toni Morrison

Alice Walker

Richard Wright

Subject Headings

Below is a short list of subject headings on Black writers and African American literature at Emory Libraries. A subject heading is like a tag, or a label, which describes what the item (book, article, etc.) is about. For more information about subject headings, see this page from UCL Libraries.

African American authors--20th century--Interviews

African American authors--Interviews

African American women in literature

African Americans in literature

African American women authors--Interviews

American literature--African American authors--History and criticism

Clifton, Lucille,1936-2010

Morrison, Toni--Interviews Walker, Alice,1944---Interviews

Trethewey, Natasha D.,1966---Interviews

Women novelists, American--20th century--Interviews