Research Guides: Middle East & South Asian Studies: Background Information

General Reference

Credo Reference Unlimited This link opens in a new window
Contains bilingual dictionaries and reference works in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Encyclopedia of Religion This link opens in a new window
Presents a cross cultural approach that emphasizes religion’s role in everyday life and in different cultures.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Content of 300+ books published by Oxford University Press.

The Worlds of the Indian Ocean : A Global History. Volume 1, From the Fourth Millennium BCE to the Sixth Century CE
Encyclopedic work offering case studies and with images.
The Worlds of the Indian Ocean: A Global History. Volume 2, From the Seventh Century to the Fifteenth Century CE
Encyclopedic work offering case studies and with images.

Subject-Specific Reference

Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographic indexes pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. Particular emphasis on the humanities and social sciences.
Oxford Bibliographies Online. Buddhism This link opens in a new window
Guide to scholarly literature in the field of Buddhism studies. Subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.
Oxford Bibliographies Online. Hinduism This link opens in a new window
Guide to scholarly literature in the field of Hinduism. Subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.
Oxford Bibliographies Online. Islamic Studies This link opens in a new window
Guide to scholarly literature in the field of Islamic Studies. Subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.
Oxford Bibliographies Online. Jewish Studies This link opens in a new window
Guide to scholarly literature in the field of Jewish studies. Subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Music of India This link opens in a new window
Covers music of India, Nepal, Bangladesh, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Includes articles on technical terms, dance styles, instruments, and styles of music from classical to film-originated.
Published in 2011. Print version: Musicmedia Reference ML101 .I47 O94 2011 (3 vols.)
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World includes articles on the history, religion, cultural practices, and political economies of Muslims from the seventh-century in West Asia to today’s Muslim societies throughout the continents of Asia, Africa, the Subcontinent, Europe, and the Americas.