Research Guides: Middle East & South Asian Studies: Databases

Databases

Index Islamicus
Contains material related to the Middle East and other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Draws resources from many journals, as well as conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews.
ARTstor
Curated collections of digital images and associated data for non-commercial, scholarly, non-profit, and educational use. Over 1 million images.
Al-Mandumah
Dar Almandumah has a series of (6) full-text online databases: 1. IslamicInfo, for Islamic and legal studies. 2. AraBase, for Arabic/Linguistics and literature studies. 3. EduSearch, for Educational and Social studies. 4. EcoLink, for Economic and Management studies. 5. Humanindex, for Humanities studies 6. Mandumah , for Theses and Dissertations. This database contains 146,238 Theses from more than 800 universities.
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration, and Cultural Exchange
Contains materials for the study of global commodities in world history. Each commodity is documented through a wide range of manuscript materials, maps, posters, paintings, photographs, and more. Key themes include exploration, colonialism, trade wars, etc.
Each commodity is documented through a wide range of manuscript materials, maps, posters, paintings, photographs, ephemera, objects and rare books so that the scholar can explore the origins of the commodity, their first uses, the trade that developed and the ways in which these items were marketed and consumed. The project touches on themes of exploration and discovery; imperialism and colonialism; trade wars; translocation and economic geography; slavery; taste; and the evolution of global branding. The resource complements and integrates with the Empire Online database.
RAMBI
Rambi
The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies – was founded by Dr. Issachar Joel in 1966. It is a selective bibliography of academic articles covering all of the fields of Jewish studies as well as the study of Eretz Israel and the State of Israel. It is based largely on the collections of the National Library. The articles listed in RAMBI are collected from thousands of journals, in print or electronic, from collections of articles and from offprints sent by researchers.

RAMBI refers to articles in Hebrew, Latin or Cyrillic letters. The database is updated on a daily basis. By the end of 2013 RAMBI included about 350,000 records, from about 21,000 different sources.

Maps

David Rumsey Map Collection

The David Rumsey Map Collection was started over 30 years ago and contains more than 150,000 maps. The collection focuses on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania.
Old Maps Online

OldMapsOnline developed out of a love of history and heritage of old maps. The project began as a collaboration between Klokan Technologies GmbH, Switzerland and The Great Britain Historical GIS Project based at the University of Portsmouth, UK thanks to funding from JISC. OldMapsOnline.org indexes over 400.000 maps.

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection: Historical Maps
Large collection of historical and region specific digitized maps.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete
Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associated Press, etc.
JSTOR
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
Scopus (SciVerse Scopus)
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Covers science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
It contains over 19,500 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus has 46 million records dating back to 1823, 72% of these containing references dating from 1996.
Web of Science
A collection of multidisciplinary citation databases, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and more.