Librarian
How to Find Research Articles
Biology Resources
- BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowAccess an index to life science and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
- BioMed Central This link opens in a new windowProvides peer-reviewed scientific journals. A wide variety of subjects include biomedicine and the physical sciences, mathematics, engineering, public health, and more.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowA collection of multidisciplinary citation databases, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and more.
Medicine Resources
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowAccess online versions of medical and clinical texts, images, and videos. Topics include biochemistry, biostatistics, microbiology, ethics, and psychiatry.
- Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new windowAccess full-text content on multiple perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to healthcare and wellness. The full-text content comes from international peer-reviewed and professional journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, newsletters, pamphlets, special reports, original research, and book excerpts.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowAccess materials related to medical conditions, procedures, drugs, and more.
- Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new windowAccess consumer-oriented health content, including materials from reference books, reports, physician-generated videos, medical images, and more. Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
Since Emory Libraries have access to more than 1,000 research databases, sometimes it is easier to filter the databases by subject and choose a database based upon your research need. Simply do this by clicking on the "All Subjects" dropdown menu and click on a subject to narrow the results to the available databases that are within the selected discipline.
Click Here to Search Background Resources
Background resources are tertiary sources that contain materials (articles, data sets, images, charts, and more) offering a comprehensive overview of a topic. Below are a few examples of Emory Libraries' background resource databases that may be helpful for this class.
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences This link opens in a new windowContains articles related to the various fields of life sciences. Topics range from cell biology to ecology, and include abstracts, illustrations, reference and readings, and more.
- Credo Reference Unlimited This link opens in a new windowContains bilingual dictionaries and reference works in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers publications from academic journals and popular magazines in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and business.
Newspaper Databases
Looking for newspaper articles, current or historical? These databases are good places to search. Emory also has free current subscriptions available for The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowSearch a large collection of publications and websites in a variety of languages. Factiva.com is the exclusive archive of The Wall Street Journal.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to news, business, medical, educational and legal sources. The sources include international, national, and regional newspapers; magazines; trade journals; newsletters; wire service reports; and transcripts of television and radio news programs.
- ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new windowAn extensive collection of historic and present-day news sources from around the world. You can focus your search to a region, current newspapers, or historical newspapers.
- NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new windowCoverage includes domestic newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, transcripts, and broadcasts, including 16 Georgia newspapers.