Need Help?
What is a scholarly journal?
Scholarly journals contain articles written by experts for experts. Articles are reviewed by other experts before they are published. This is called peer review. A scholarly article typically has information about authors (such as credentials and affiliations), an abstract, footnotes/bibliography, and perhaps extensive statistics or charts. Authors often provide at least a brief review of the literature on the subject. Many databases allow you to restrict your searches to scholarly journals, sometimes called "refereed" journals.
Comprehensive or Multidisciplinary Databases
- JSTORProvides searchable full-text access to backfiles (usually does not include issues of journals published within the last 5 years) of key scholarly journals in many fields including African American studies, African studies, anthropology, archaeology, Asian studies, business, classical studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, general science, geography, history, history of science, language and literature, Latin American studies, mathematics, Middle East studies, philosophy, political science, population studies, Slavic studies, sociology, and statistics.
- Web of ScienceA great place to start for biological anthropology and related topics. Multidisciplinary database covering the top journals in science, social science, and the arts & humanities.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowProduced by the National Library of Medicine, this biomedical database includes over 30 million citations and dates back to 1946.
Find many more databases at databases @ Emory.
Disciplinary Databases
- Anthropology PlusIt indexes articles and essays in over 2500 journals and edited works on all aspects of anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, geography, geology, genetics, psychology, religion and sociology.
- Sociological AbstractsA much larger database than Anthropology Plus that indexes many of the key anthropology journals.
- PsychINFO (EBSCO)PsycINFO provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. More than 2.7 million records. Updated weekly. 99% of the citations are from peer-reviewed journals.
Biomedical and Health Databases
- PubMedA service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full-text articles and other related resources.
- MEDLINEThe National Library of Medicine's database indexing literature in biomedicine, medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
- CINAHLCovers the literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines.
- EmbaseIndexes international biomedical journals covering public health, toxicology, pharmacology, drug research, health policy and management, psychiatry, psychology, biomedical engineering, alternative medicine, and environmental health.
- BioMed CentralPublishes peer-reviewed scientific journals rapidly and makes them freely available online. Includes biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, ecology, evolutionary biology, genetics, genomics, medicine, microbiology, nursing, and public health.
- BIOSIS PreviewsProvides comprehensive coverage of the world's published biological and biomedical research including biology, botany, zoology, microbiology, veterinary medicine, biotechnology, environmental studies, biochemistry, biophysics, and bioengineering. Indexes journal articles, technical reports, meetings, reviews, and books.
- Global Health (CABI)Index for articles related to health, health policy, biomedicine.