Skip to Main Content

Summer RA Workshop - 2024

The Bluebook

Print copies of The Bluebook are kept with the Course Reserves. To check them out, ask for them at the service desk.

The 21st edition of The Bluebook is now available online.  Individual subscriptions are available starting at $39 per year. For assistance with The Bluebook, ask the reference librarians for help at the service desk.

T2 (the table of foreign jurisdictions) and a Quick Style Guide are freely available online.

Citation Assistance

Resources for understanding The Bluebook:

Georgetown's excellent guide introduces you to the Bluebook in detail. It includes video tutorials for CasesStatutes, and Law Reviews.

UW also provides a comprehensive guide. It includes videos including for important topics like Signals, Cross-References, and Online Sources.

In addition to an effective citation generator, Hein provides pdf originals of most US law review articles. These can be a very useful because they let you see how others have cited a source.

Follow the link and sign into Lexis. Choose go to Lexis+. Then click the box in the top left next to the Lexis+ logo, and select Interactive Citation Workstation. The bottom right box (called Student Citation Manual Exercises) will take you to online exercises that you can use to learn the Bluebook.

Session Recording - 2024 Workshop

Session Slides - 2024 Workshop

Questions for the MacMillan Law Library?

Have a question for the Law Library?  Reach out to us via one of our question forms:

Faculty Research or Staff Question?
Please complete our Faculty Request form.

Student Research Question?
Please complete our Student Research Request form. 

MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:

          Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
          Saturday - Sunday: Closed 

MacMillan Library Building Hours (May 13 - August 16, 2024):

Monday - Friday: 9am - 6pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Reference Desk:
Monday: 1pm - 3pm
Tuesday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 1pm - 3pm
Wednesday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 2pm - 4pm
Thursday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 1pm - 3pm
Friday: 10am - 12pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed

IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday: 
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis. 
Questions?  Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services