Finding Articles - Summer RA Workshop - 2024 - Research Guides at Emory University Libraries

Introduction: Finding Articles

With your faculty research, you will likely have articles to find for your professor with various degrees of information about the article, including title, author, citation, partial citation, and publication year.

This guide covers:

Popular Databases: Law review/journal article research using Hein Online, Lexis+, and Westlaw. Each database has its pros and cons, but which one you use ultimately depends on how much information you have about your article and the format of the article (like PDF!). Be sure to explore each of these legal databases to see which is best for each situation.
Emory Access Resources: Law review/journal article research using Emory University Libraries resources, including eJournals and Articles+.
Emory's Cool Tools: including LibKey Nomad, FindIt@Emory, and Unpay Wall.
Organizing Articles: To organize your articles, check out Emory guides on using EndNote and Zotero to organize your research and store PDFs for future reference.

Hein Online

Hein Online

Contains over 100 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. The most popular HeinOnline libraries include the Law Journal Library, the Session Laws Library, and the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, with exact page images of the documents in PDF format just as they appear in the original print.

Lexis+

Lexis+

Westlaw Edge

Westlaw Edge

Emory Access Resources

Cool Tools - Emory Access

Accessing Emory Digital Resources - LibKey Nomad
LibKey Nomad is a free plugin that helps you access scholarly journal articles. Once it knows you're affiliated with Emory, LibKey Nomad checks the web page of the article you're viewing to see if it's available at Emory. If it is, you'll see a graphic in the bottom left corner of your browser window.
Access to Emory Digital Resources - Proxy Resolver
Regardless of which browser you use, we have a bookmarklet you can add to your browser that allows you to request items through the Emory proxy server. Unlike LibKey Nomad, it doesn't identify which articles are available using Emory's databases, but if an article's web page suggests you need to pay for the article, and you want to check to see if it's available here for free, clicking the bookmarklet link will make your browser look for the article through our system. If you haven't already logged in before you started your research, you'll probably be asked to do so when you click the bookmarklet.
Emory Resources and Google Scholar
If you use Google Scholar to do your research, you can set your browser up to go directly to the search results in the Emory Libraries, if they're available.
Unpaywall
Provides a browser plug-in that can help you get to open access content when searching external databases.

Keeping Track of Your Articles

Efficiently track your legal research by using automated citation and article organization tools. There are many tools supported by Emory University you may use to keep track of your article research, including EndNote and Zotero.

EndNote - Automated organization and formatting of citations and bibliographies. Connect to online sources including catalogs and article databases
Zotero - collect, manage and cite research sources. This tool can pull and store PDFs from open access sources or allows you to upload your PDFs attached to your citation. Zotero allows you to organize your research into collections and may assist with your bibliographies.

Although great for organization, remember to never rely on automated citation tools for accuracy in your Bluebook citations!

Session Recording - 2024 Workshop

Questions for the MacMillan Law Library?

Have a question for the Law Library? Reach out to us via one of our question forms:

Faculty Research or Staff Question?
Please complete our Faculty Request form.

Student Research Question?
Please complete our Student Research Request form.

MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:

Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

MacMillan Library Building Hours (May 13 - August 16, 2024):

Monday - Friday: 9am - 6pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Reference Desk:*
Monday: 1pm - 3pm
Tuesday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 1pm - 3pm
Wednesday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 2pm - 4pm
Thursday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 1pm - 3pm
Friday: 10am - 12pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed
*Closed July 15 - August 9, 2024

IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday:
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here.
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis.
Questions? Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services