Research Guides: Religion 100_Professor Pohl_Spring 2024: Primary Sources

What are primary sources?

Primary Sources are an original creative work, historical record about events, survey data, or publication of original, empirical research.

Examples:

Original Artwork
Photographs
Speeches
Letters
Interviews

Below are places to find primary sources for each movement.

A tip for searching in the sources is to use quotes around mutli word phrases, especially when searching in Newspaper databases. For example when searching for a name rather than Arnold Josiah Ford search "Arnold Josiah Ford".

Primary Source Database

Harlem Renaissance

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
Access periodicals by and about African Americans, including academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, bulletins, and more.
African American Newspapers, Series 2, 1835-1956 This link opens in a new window
Contains African American newspapers published in the United States from 1835-1956. Complements the database African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998.

The Harlem Renaissance Primary Source Set
Primary source set put together by the Library of Congress for the Harlem Renaissance.
Visual Art During the Harlem Renaissance
Primary Source set on the Digital Public Library of America about art during the Harlem Renaissance.

Marcus Garvey and the United Negro Improvement Association

FBI Investigation File on Marcus Garvey
The FBI investigation File on Marcus Garvey (1887-1940) is an informative source on his role as a spokesman for black nationalism, on the American black community of the 1920s, and on the origins of the black social protest and separatist movements. This collection contains 1,435 pages.

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
Access periodicals by and about African Americans, including academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, bulletins, and more.
African American Newspapers, Series 2, 1835-1956 This link opens in a new window
Contains African American newspapers published in the United States from 1835-1956. Complements the database African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998.
ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of historic and present-day news sources from around the world. You can focus your search to a region, current newspapers, or historical newspapers.

Arnold Josiah Ford and the Congregation Beth B’nai Abraham

ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of historic and present-day news sources from around the world. You can focus your search to a region, current newspapers, or historical newspapers.

The Universal Ethiopian Hymnal compiled by Arnold J. Ford.
The Universal Ethiopian Hymnal compiled by Arnold J. Ford. Published in 1922.
Ethiopian Hebrews Series Photographs
Photographs of Royal Order of Ethiopian Hebrews.

ProQuest African American Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Black Newspapers provides a record of social change spanning almost a century. Covers major events to everyday life; includes newspapers such as Atlanta Daily World, Los Angeles Sentinel, New York Amsterdam News, and Pittsburgh Courier.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
Access periodicals by and about African Americans, including academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, bulletins, and more.
ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of historic and present-day news sources from around the world. You can focus your search to a region, current newspapers, or historical newspapers.

Father Divine Narrated by Westbrook Van Voorhis in March of Time
News broadcast about Father Divine Narrated by Westbrook Van Voorhis.

FBI File on the Moorish Science Temple of America
The FBI investigated the Moorish Science Temple for its alleged hostility toward capitalism and its efforts to incite revolution. This collection is organized into geographic sections demarcating FBI headquarters and various field offices, including Baltimore, Chicago and Philadelphia. It is filed chronologically within the geographic sections. Materials contain correspondence, memos, reports, interviews, and pamphlets. The collection contains 4,069 pages.
Moorish Science Temple of America Photograph Collection
Moorish Science Temple of America photograph collection in New York Public Library Digital Collections.

ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of historic and present-day news sources from around the world. You can focus your search to a region, current newspapers, or historical newspapers.