AAS490: Senior Seminar on American Human Rights Policy / Anderson

Contains primary and secondary law material, news sources, and trade journal content. Also includes Westlaw research tools, such as KeyCite. Can be used to search for federal cases (U.S. Supreme Court, U.S. Courts of Appeals, etc.) as well as state-level cases, providing access to decisions with case coverage back to 1790. Includes significant complementary material (e.g., amicus curiae, briefs).

Formerly LexisNexis Academic, Nexis Uni provides full-text access to news, business, medical, educational and legal sources. Nexis Uni features not only the Shepard's citator but also a Guided Search tool in which users can search for cases based on jurisdiction and issue. Can be used to search for federal cases as well as state-level cases, providing access to decisions with case coverage back to 1790. Includes significant complementary material (e.g., amicus curiae, briefs).

Includes Supreme Court case opinions in the U.S. Supreme Court Library. This library includes the U.S. Reports (1754-2008) and U.S. Reports slip opinions (2002-date).

Provides in-depth coverage and analysis of every decision from the U.S. Supreme Court since 1989, including case summaries, essays on the most significant cases from each year, and biographies of justices.

Google Scholar provides an extensive database of state and appellate cases (1950-present; not all cases) and federal cases. Tip: click on "cases" and then select the states and/or courts of interest.

Includes cases from the U.S. Supreme Court (1754-present), Federal Court cases (1950-present), and state cases (1997-present).

Justia provides cases from the U.S. Supreme Court, U.S. Circuit Courts of Appeal, and U.S. District Courts, as well as many state supreme court and intermediate court of appeal cases.

FindLaw's Cases and Codes section contains resources and links for both state and federal laws. The database provides case law from the U.S. Supreme Court and U.S. Circuit Court of Appeal, as well as several state supreme courts.

The U.S. Supreme Court website (1991-present) includes recent decisions in addition to dockets, calendars, oral argument transcripts, court rules, and briefs.

Includes case opinions for cases dating back to the October 2007 term (linking to Bloomberg Law) and is a source for commentary on the activities of the Court, and court briefs.

Includes Supreme Court cases from 1990 - present.

Oyez provides Supreme Court cases since 1792, along with a short breakdown of the facts of the case, the main question the case seeks to the answer, and the conclusion. Additionally, users can view cases by the Court term or by Issue.

From Washington University in St. Louis, this database includes Supreme Court decisions from 1791 - 2018, as well as analysis of those cases.

Using the United States Courts website, you can find links to the individual courts to search for cases by jurisdiction.

From 2004-present, however not all courts are included.

Dates will vary by court.