Skip to Main Content
Emory University Emory Libraries

FILM 407 Film and Media Management (Bernstein and Garner) Spring 2024

Sources for Media Industry White Papers

Possible information sources for media industry white papers might include:

  • Articles from trade / professional / industry publications.
    • Variety
    • The Hollywood Reporter
    • CBR (formerly Comic Book Resources)
  • Statements and reports from trade / professional associations and unions
    • SAG-AFTRA (Screen Actors Guild - American Federation of Television and Radio Artists)
    • WGA (Writers Guild of America)
    • DGA (Directors Guild of America
    • NATO (National Association of Theatre Owners)
  • Newspaper articles
    • Try searching in the Factiva database, which has exclusive Wall Street Journal coverage as well as all the other newspapers listed below.
      • Wall Street Journal
      • New York Times
      • Atlanta Journal-Constitution
      • Atlanta Business Chronicle
  • Company profiles
  • Interviews with company executives and industry insiders
    • Tip: Try using Boolean search in library databases including interview AND (executive OR CEO OR chief OR [executive’s name] OR [name of company])

Library Databases

These databases are all good starting points and contain most of the types of information you need listed below. Depending on your research focus, there may be other databases you can use.

 

EMIS Intelligence

Business Source Complete

  • Access a range of material related to business. Includes peer-reviewed journals, financial data, monographs, case studies and more.
  • Full article indexing enables you to browse subject headings and automatically generate citations.
  • Current full text of the trade publication Broadcasting & Cable, not easily findable elsewhere.
  • Scholarly articles on media industries.

Film and Television Literature with Full Text

  • Full article indexing enables you to browse subject headings and automatically generate citations.
  • Full text of the trade publications Variety and Hollywood Reporter.
  • Scholarly articles on media industries

Factiva

  • The exclusive archive of The Wall Street Journal.
  • Explore the Companies/Markets section of the database.

Film and Media Studies Research Guide