Research Guides: Hip Hop: Find Archival Collections

Atlanta Archival Collections

Photo from H.J. Parsons photographs

Emory Archival Collections in Rose Library:
- Earwax Records collection: Materials accumulated by Darryl "Jasz" Smith, documenting the history of the Atlanta, Georgia, store, Earwax Records, including audiovisual material, photographs, memorabilia, and printed material.
- Brian Lassiter collection: Lassiter was a producer, engineer, promoter, and journalist of hip-hop music from 1983-2013 and helped to develop the "Dirty South" aesthetic.
- Jack Stewart collection and H.J. Parsons photographs: Contains photographs of graffiti art, especially from New York and Atlanta; these collections were showcased in the 2022 library exhibition Graffiti: A Library Guide to Aerosol Art.
HipHop2020 Innovation Archive (Georgia Tech): Centered around the collection of Atlanta artist Michael Webster, aka DJ Web. See also the sister project, FourFour Beat Labs.
Atlanta Hip Hop Archives at Georgia State University: Announced in 2023, the collection is in development.
Atlanta University Center’s (AUC) Robert W. Woodruff Library's Archive Resource Center: Future home of "For the Record," the digital interactive archive launched in conjunction with The Culture: Hip Hop and Contemporary Art in the 21st Century, an exhibition created by The Baltimore Museum of Art (BMA) and Saint Louis Art Museum (SLAM).

Cornell Hip Hop Collection Established in 2007, the Cornell Hip Hop Collection preserves more than 250,000 items across dozens of archives documenting the origins of Hip Hop culture and its spread around the globe.
Hiphop Archive & Research Institute: From The Hiphop Archive and Research Institute's inception in 2002 under the direction of Harvard University Professor Marcyliena Morgan, students, faculty, artists, staff and other participants in Hiphop culture have been committed to supporting and establishing a new type of research and scholarship devoted to the knowledge, art, culture, materials, organizations, movements and institutions of Hiphop. In response to this exciting and growing intellectual movement The Hiphop Archive and Research Institute serves to organize and develop collections, initiate and participate in research activities, sponsor events and acquire material culture associated with Hiphop in the U.S. and throughout the world.
Hip-Hop and Rap Across the Smithsonian: includes photographs of musicians and of artifacts from their collection.
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture: A branch of the New York Public Library, the Schomburg Center houses numerous collections related to hip hop across the center's divisions.
Massachusetts Hip-Hop Archive and Hip-Hop Collections at UMass Boston
Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Library & Archives: Large archival collection focusing on popular music, including hip-hop.