Research Guides: THEA 100 Intro to Theatre (Brankin): Magazines and Journal Articles

eJournals A-Z

eJournals A-Z

If you already have a citation for an article, you can find Emory's electronic access options for the journal that it is published in using this search page. Search by journal title (not article title), and check our holdings against the year of publication for the article.

Databases for Theater Magazines and Scholarly Articles

These library databases contain full text and citations for scholarly articles, along with thorough indexing and frequently article abstracts as well. They are recommended as a starting point because of their comprehensive coverage. You can:

Filter your results for "scholarly journals" or 'peer reviewed."
Generate formatted bibliographic citations according to your preferred citation style.
Use the "Choose Databases" function to select multiple databases to search at the same time.

They also index content from popular theater magazines and other popular newspapers and magazines that you may find useful for your research.

Full list of library databases with "Theater" as a subject
A-Z Databases @ Emory (A full list of our database holdings)

TRY THESE FIRST

International Bibliography of Theater and Dance with Full Text (IBTD) This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographic materials on theater and dance, including articles, essays and book chapters. Resources are mined from internationally selected publications in drama, dance, media, mime, mixed entertainment, and more.
IBTD is a research tool for university theater and language departments, theater organizations, primary schools, social scientists and professionals within the field.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, essay collections, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associated Press, etc.

OTHER RECOMMENDED DATABASES

Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Access a large collection of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as coverage of many international conference proceedings.
To search this database, select Search In: Web of Science Core Collection, and then under Editions you can select the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for books and articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories and universities, and more. To add a "Find It @ Emory" button, go to Library Links in the Settings menu, search for Emory, and click the "Find It @ Emory" box. NOTE: Unlike a library database, many sources found in Google Scholar require payment before providing full text; check library holdings of journal titles in Library Search or Interlibrary Loan before paying.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Includes the most recently published output of many major scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, and more.