Math Articles
-
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Covers journals, books, and conference proceedings on mathematics from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications.
-
College Mathematics JournalThe College Mathematics Journal is designed to enhance classroom learning and stimulate thinking regarding undergraduate mathematics. It publishes articles, short Classroom Capsules, problems, solutions, media reviews, and other pieces. All are aimed at the college mathematics curriculum with emphasis on topics taught in the first two years.
-
Involve: A Journal of MathematicsInvolve showcases and encourages high-quality mathematical research involving students from all academic levels. The editorial board consists of mathematical scientists committed to nurturing student participation in research.
-
The Rose-Hulman Undergraduate Mathematics JournalThe Rose-Hulman Undergraduate Mathematics Journal is devoted entirely to papers written by undergraduates on topics related to the mathematical sciences. Although the authors need not be undergraduates at the time of submission or publication, the work must have been completed before graduation. The journal will be distributed freely in an electronic format from this site. In order to maintain a high level of exposition, each paper must be sponsored by a mathematician familiar with the student's work and each paper will be refereed.
-
Mathematics MagazineMathematics Magazine is an international, peer-reviewed journal publishing high-quality, lively, readable, and appealing exposition on a wide range of mathematical topics, including original mathematics, historical content, and connections among mathematics and other disciplines.
Since Emory Libraries have access to more than 1,000 research databases, sometimes it is easier to filter the databases by subject and choose a database based upon your research need. Simply do this by clicking on the "All Subjects" dropdown menu and click on a subject to narrow the results to the available databases that are within the selected discipline.
Click Here to Search Mathematician Information
-
AccessScience Encyclopedia of Science and Technology This link opens in a new windowSource of reference for major scientific disciplines. Useful to identify and locate primary research material, videos, and teaching material.
-
Mathematics Genealogy ProjectThe intent of this project is to compile information about ALL the mathematicians of the world. Once you're on a scholar's page, you can trace their students and see what they worked on as well. The site also links to biographies written by scholars at the University of St Andrews (look at the top of a scholar's profile).
-
Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new windowContains guides written by specialists in their fields on influlential writers, artists, topics, periods and more.
Searching Google
Google can also be a good place to start background searching, especially on modern mathematicians who may not have encyclopedia entries. Try this strategy to see what you can find. If you're having trouble, please reach out to Paige for help!
- When approaching a research topic with a lot of potential directions you can go, you want to do some exploratory or background research.
- Pick one of these topics or articles you see that you are most familiar with and Google it. How much information did you find in 2-3 minutes of searching? Then search for one you’re not as familiar with. How much did you find?
- Try variations on terms: remember, you’re exploring and trying to get some new areas to explore. Research is like investigative journalism – if something interests you, pursue it!
- As you’re reading, start writing down some terms that you see popping up that seem important (names of theorems, publications, institutions where they taught, etc). Expand your search by looking into these new keywords.
- Finally, try some advanced Google search tips. For example, you can limit by site:.edu to find university resources.
Looking for some inspiration for math applications?
- Check out some current publications for math-related news and discussion:
- Chalkdust Magazine
- Quanta Magazine
- Scientific American: either browse the archive (since 2010) for ideas or search within the records on Academic Search Complete
- Wolfram Mathworld: They have great breakdowns of concepts, formulae, and WolframAlpha tips for working with all kinds of topics. I linked the Applied Mathematics topic list but there are many more to explore!
- And lastly, you may have fun looking through some of these math blogs, many of which discuss mathematical applications to the real world:
- The applied math section of the Blog on Math Blogs
- Math with Bad Drawings: Math teacher Ben Orlin's classic blog covering all kinds of topics through a mathematical lens, with humor.
- Tanya Khovanova's Math Blog: She covers puzzles, algorithms, and math crafts!