Contact Information
Find Reference Databases
The Robert W. Woodruff Library subscribes to large reference databases that contain many digital encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference works. Here is a selection:
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowAccess wide-ranging materials that focus on the lives and events that have shaped African American and African history and culture. Comprised of five major encyclopedias and additional reference sources from Oxford University Press.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowContains online reference works -- see title list for individual works included.
- Credo Reference Unlimited This link opens in a new windowContains bilingual dictionaries and reference works in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Find Encyclopedias
Below are a handful of Emory's most recent encyclopedias. To find more on the same topic, go to the catalog record by clicking on the link below. Then click on relevant subject headings.
Find Biographical Information
- American National Biography This link opens in a new windowSource of biographical information of people from different eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture.
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowAccess wide-ranging materials that focus on the lives and events that have shaped African American and African history and culture. Comprised of five major encyclopedias and additional reference sources from Oxford University Press.
Handbooks & Companions
To find companions, handbooks, or bibliographies related to Native American and Indigenous Studies you can use Library Search; however, individual articles can be hard to find. Also try searching the portals to these resources below.
Oxford Bibliographies, annotated bibliographies that provide a gateway to research in particular subfields of Native American Studies.
Cambridge Companions, guides to various Native American literature topics.
Routledge Handbooks, book-length companions to various topics.
Oxford Handbooks, reviews of scholarly literature.
Annual Reviews Online, reviews of scholarly literature in the sciences and social sciences.