Emory University Libraries' catalog is called Library Search. See Woodruff Library's Library Search User Guide for more information.
Emory Law faculty have borrowing privileges at all Emory University libraries. Most items check out for one year and include up to 10 renewals. Media items such as DVDs have shorter loan times depending on the lending library. Faculty may request items from other libraries directly through the library's catalog (Library Search) or via the law library by submitting a Faculty Request form , selecting "Document Delivery," and providing as much information as possible. Once received, the item will be placed in the faculty member's mailbox.
Our Physical Space
Naturally, we welcome faculty to visit the library when we are open. However, if you are in a pinch and need to grab something from our collection outside normal business hours, all Emory Law faculty enjoy 24-hour access to the library space via the 5th floor connector. To check out an item after hours, please complete a yellow "check out" card located on the library side of the 5th floor connector. We will update the system when we retrieve your card in the morning. Please note that the library has a security system that is armed after hours. Motion sensors will automatically contact Emory Police if anyone gets too close to the library doors on the 1st and 2nd floors. Please respect the spaces close to the doors and help us avoid false alarms.
Overdue fees
Law faculty are not subject to overdue fees on Emory University materials. However, if an item has been recalled (return requested for check out to another borrower), overdue fees will ($2 per day) will begin accruing after the recall due date. Faculty borrowing privileges may be suspended at any time for excessive overdue materials or unpaid fees.
Lost Items
Faculty are responsible for compensating Emory Libraries for all lost items. The typical "replacement fee" is $100.
MacMillan Law Library participates in a library consortium to ensure the broadest access of materials to our faculty and students. Through this cooperative agreement, the library can request items on your behalf. To request materials from MacMillan Law Library, the Emory Library System, or via Interlibrary Loan, please submit a Faculty Request form, click "Document Delivery," and provide as much information as possible.
We will explore all avenues available to track down the item(s) requested. For physical items, upon receipt we will check it out to you and put it in your mailbox. For digital materials, we will send you a link as soon as possible.
Interlibrary Loan
Physical items obtained via Interlibrary Loan (ILL) are subject to a variety of lending policies as they are materials on loan from non-Emory libraries. Borrowing times may vary and newer releases may not always be available. Additionally, ILL items should be handled with the greatest care possible because these are not our books. Please respect any restrictions placed by the lending library, such as "library use only" or "no renewals." Disregarding these restrictions may result in fines and/or the loss of ILL borrowing privileges. Finally, please do not remove the paperwork on the front cover of ILL books; doing so vastly increases the chances the item will get lost and fines levied.
Purchase Requests
If you have recommendations for additions to our collection, please submit a Faculty Request form, click "Purchase Request," and provide as much information as possible. Our Collection Development Team reviews all purchase requests to ensure requested materials are in alignment with out Collection Development Policy.
Westlaw and Lexis passwords
For information about Westlaw and Lexis passwords, please submit a Faculty Request form, click "Other," and provide as much information as possible.
New York Times
All Emory Law faculty, staff, and students have digital access to the New York Times via Woodruff library's NYTimes Academic Pass program. The program offers individual users digital access to the New York Times from any network or location for a limited period of time. For more information, see our New York Times Digital Access Setup Guide library guide.
Wall Street Journal
All Emory Law faculty, staff, and students have digital access to the Wall Street Journal via Goizueta business library's Wall Street Journal digital access program. For more information, see their Wall Street Journal / WSJ.com library guide.
Legal News
The library offers access to several legal news platforms.
Daily Report, Atlanta, GA : American Lawyer Media
-Daily, local legal news
-Available to Emory faculty, students, and staff.
Law.com, New York, NY : American Lawyer Media
-Daily, national legal news
-Available to Emory Law faculty, students, and staff only.
Law360.com, also available via Lexis+.
If you have recommendations for additions to our collection, please submit a Faculty Request form, click "Purchase Request," and provide as much information as possible. Our Collection Development Team reviews all purchase requests to ensure requested materials are in alignment with out Collection Development Policy.
Have a question for the Law Library? Reach out to us via one of our question forms:
Faculty Research or Staff Question?
Please complete our Faculty Request form.
Student Research Question?
Please complete our Student Research Request form.
MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:
Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
MacMillan Library Building Hours (May 13 - August 16, 2024):
Monday - Friday: 9am - 6pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
Reference Desk:
Monday: 1pm - 3pm
Tuesday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 1pm - 3pm
Wednesday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 2pm - 4pm
Thursday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 1pm - 3pm
Friday: 10am - 12pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed
IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday:
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here.
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis.
Questions? Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services