Summer RA Workshop - 2023

With your faculty research, you will likely have articles to find for your professor with various degrees of information about the article, including title, author, citation, partial citation, and publication year.

This guide covers:

• Popular Databases: Law review/journal article research using Hein Online, Lexis+, and Westlaw. Each database has its pros and cons, but which one you use ultimately depends on how much information you have about your article and the format of the article (like PDF!). Be sure to explore each of these legal databases to see which is best for each situation. 
• Emory Access Resources: Law review/journal article research using Emory University Libraries resources, including DiscoverE, eJournal and Articles+.
• Emory's Cool Tools: including LibKey Nomad, FindIt@Emory, and Unpay Wall.
• Organizing Articles: To organize your articles, check out Emory guides on using EndNote and Zotero to organize your research and store PDFs for future reference.

Hein Online

Contains over 100 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. The most popular HeinOnline libraries include the Law Journal Library, the Session Laws Library, and the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, with exact page images of the documents in PDF format just as they appear in the original print.

Efficiently track your legal research by using automated citation and article organization tools. There are many tools supported by Emory University you may use to keep track of your article research, including EndNote and Zotero. 

• EndNote - Automated organization and formatting of citations and bibliographies. Connect to online sources including catalogs and article databases
• Zotero - collect, manage and cite research sources. This tool can pull and store PDFs from open access sources or allows you to upload your PDFs attached to your citation. Zotero allows you to organize your research into collections and may assist with your bibliographies. Georgetown Law has created a Juris M version of Zotero specifically for legal research.  

Although great for organization, remember to never rely on automated citation tools for accuracy in your Bluebook citations! 

Have a question for the Law Library?  Reach out to us via one of our question forms:

Faculty Research or Staff Question?
Please complete our Faculty Request form.

Student Research Question?
Please complete our Student Research Request form. 

MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:

          Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
          Saturday - Sunday: Closed 

MacMillan Library Building Hours (April 1 - May 3, 2024):

Monday - Thursday: 7:30am - 2am
Friday: 7:30am - Midnight
Saturday: 10am - Midnight
Sunday: 10am - 2am

Reference Desk:
Monday - Wednesday: 10am - 4pm
Thursday: 10:30am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 1pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed

IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday: 
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here. 
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis. 
Questions?  Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services