Summer RA Workshop - 2023

• Finding and checking out books at Emory Libraries
• Getting scans of chapters and articles
• Becoming a Proxy
• Obtaining materials outside of Emory Libraries through Interlibrary Loan

If you need help...

Email us at lawcirc@emory.edu or call the Service Desk: (404) 727-6824.

We are always here to help! Learn more about services and spaces at all Emory's libraries by visiting this link.

Emory University Libraries

• Emory’s Law Library is one of five total Emory University libraries with nearly 9 million items in total.

• Four of the Emory libraries are located on the main Atlanta campus; one is located 40 miles away at the Oxford campus. Items from the Oxford campus can be requested for delivery.

• Items from the Atlanta campus are not available for request--students must retrieve the items from the library.

Our Collection Contains...

• Books
• Journals
• DVDs
• Thousands of databases
• Electronic Journals
• Ebooks
• And more!

When you find materials you wish to check out for your faculty member, it is important to check them out as a "Proxy" for your faculty member. To become a proxy, you and your faculty member must fill out and sign this form. The completed form can be emailed to lawcirc@emory.edu.

It is important not to check out items personally for your faculty member for several reasons:

• Borrowing rules and privileges are different for students and faculty.
  • Due dates and fines are significantly different for faculty than for students. 
• It is important that the person who physically has the items receives any recall notices. (This keeps you from having to foot the bill for any fines incurred by your faculty member).
• Borrowing privileges are nontransferable. We cannot move a check-out from one account to another--we need the item in hand.

Research Assistants must first complete the proxy application form in order to...

• Check out Emory materials in your professor’s name.
• Charge research related copying and printing to your faculty member’s account at the Copy Center on the first floor of Gambrell Hall.

 Proxies may NOT:

• Request items in your faculty member’s name. You can check out items, but do not request them in their name on a hold form.
• Request Document Delivery (scans) as a proxy.
• Be a proxy on your faculty member’s interlibrary loan account. (You may do the research to identify the item, but faculty will need to request the item through the library’s website).

Do you want to be able to walk right into the library and pick up a book to be scanned or checked out? Watch the video below! This video covers how to get to the library catalog, search for items, and place a hold for pickup. You can use this process not only with the Law Library, but other Emory libraries as well.

You cannot request scans of books that are held at the Law Library. You must request those books and come to the library to scan them yourself.

You can request scans of items at these libraries on Emory's campus:

• Library Service Center
• Woodruff Library
• Pitts Theology Library
• Health Sciences Library
• Oxford Library
• Music & Media Library
• Business Library
• Science Commons

Featured below are instructions for requesting a book section. This video starts on the Pitts Theology Library website, but you can start your search here in the library catalog and then follow the video's instructions from there.

You can learn more about the rules of Document Delivery and find a step-by-step guide here.

When tracking your materials, Library Search is your friend.

Log into your account by clicking "My Library Card."

Sign in using "Emory Users" link.

Once you log in, you’ll be able to see everything that is checked out to you, as well as any fines you may have accrued, hold requests you have made, or any recalls that are coming due.

Request an Interlibrary Loan (ILL)! Watch the video below to see how you can request items from all over the country.

Remember:

• There are limits to the items that we can ILL. This process also takes time.
• Proxies cannot ILL items for faculty members. You can find the item in Worldcat, but they have to request it themselves.
• Physical ILLs must be picked up at the law library. We cannot ship them to your home.

Also, keep in mind, we do not ILL scans of textbooks in use the current semester, whole ebooks,  or any material available at Emory or Online, unless it's a Document Delivery Request to a different Emory library.

Note: In the video, the final submission page looks a bit different now, but it’s still the same concept—just make sure that you put the Law School as your department.

Have a question for the Law Library?  Reach out to us via one of our question forms:

Faculty Research or Staff Question?
Please complete our Faculty Request form.

Student Research Question?
Please complete our Student Research Request form. 

MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:

          Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
          Saturday - Sunday: Closed 

MacMillan Library Building Hours (April 1 - May 3, 2024):

Monday - Thursday: 7:30am - 2am
Friday: 7:30am - Midnight
Saturday: 10am - Midnight
Sunday: 10am - 2am

Reference Desk:
Monday - Wednesday: 10am - 4pm
Thursday: 10:30am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 1pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed

IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday: 
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here. 
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis. 
Questions?  Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services