Research Guides: AAS190: Sounds of Protest and Change: Find Scholarly Articles

Key Databases

Following is a select list of databases that provide full text OR references to articles from secondary source journals relevant for researching the American Civil Rights Movement. See Databases@Emory for a complete list of the library's databases.

Subject-Specific Databases

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Prominent source for scholarly journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations in U.S. & Canadian history. Covers sources published from the 1960s to present.
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Contains resources for the study and teaching of literature in English. Access a large collection of literary works, criticism, and reference resources. Includes poetry, drama, prose fiction, and more.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, essay collections, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Access resources for scholarly music research. Includes a continuously-updated bibliography of music literature with broad international coverage.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associated Press, etc.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Includes the most recently published output of many major scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, and more.