Skip to Main Content

ARTHIST 329|CL 329 Greek Sculpture in the Age of Kings

From the King’s Peace in 370 BCE, which ushered in the Late Classical Period, through to the Roman conquests that marked the end of the Hellenistic Period in 30 BCE, “ancient Greek” sculpture underwent a radical evolution. This course will study how the a

Reference (Finding Background Information)

Brill's New Pauly Online This link opens in a new window
Contains articles on all aspects of the ancient world. Many articles are illustrated with maps, site plans, genealogical tables, and photographs.

The Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World by John Roberts (Editor)
The Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek by Franco Montanari; Madeleine Goh (Editor); Chad Schroeder (Editor)
The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization by Simon Hornblower; Antony Spawforth; Esther Eidinow
ISBN: 9780198706779
Lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae : (LIMC) by Boardman, John, 1927-
Call Number: Reference NX650 .M9 L48
Publication Date: 1981-

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Access a wide-variety of art resources across Oxford’s art reference works. Includes articles, visual arts, digital images, biographies, bibliographies, encyclopedias, and more.

The Encyclopedia of Ancient History by Roger S. Bagnall (Editor); Kai Brodersen (Editor); Craige B. Champion (Editor); Andrew Erskine (Editor); Sabine R. Huebner (Editor)
The Cambridge Ancient History: Volume 1, Part 1, Prolegomena and Prehistory by I. E. S. Edwards (Editor); C. J. Gadd (Editor); N. G. L. Hammond (Editor)
Call Number: D57 .C25
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome by Michael Gagarin (Editor)
Call Number: Reference DE5 .O95 2010
ISBN: 9780195170726

Brill's New Pauly

Brill's New Pauly, Classical Tradition, Volume I (a-Del)
Call Number: REFERENCE DE5 .N48132 2006
ISBN: 9004142215
Originally published in Germany in the nineteenth century, Brill's New Pauly remains the premier dictionary/encyclopedia for students and scholars of Greco-Roman antiquity