Recommended Databases for Journal Articles
- APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes and provides access to major peer-reviewed journals and scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
- ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals, essays, and book reviews in the areas of religion and theology.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new windowContains material for black studies including essays, periodicals, reference books, the Schomburg Studies, and more.
- Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new windowCovers information on women from journals, newsletters, research reports, government and international agencies. Focused towards the disciplines of sociology, psychology, law, health, education, and business.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowProvides publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for a large collection of magazines, journals, books and news sources. Also includes gray literature such as case studies and speeches, and full-text of historically significant LGBT resources.
- Philosopher's Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes books and journals in philosophy and related fields. Covers ethics, aesthetics, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysics, and more.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowIncludes the most recently published output of many major scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, and more.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowProduced by the National Library of Medicine, this biomedical database includes over 30 million citations and dates back to 1946.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCovers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1952-present.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowCollection of international sources on women's studies journals, newspapers, newsletters, books, theses, web sites and documents, and more.
Find News Articles in Databases
- NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new windowCoverage includes domestic newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, transcripts, and broadcasts, including 16 Georgia newspapers.
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new windowIncludes international alternative, radical, and left periodicals to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change. Coverage begins in 1991.
Access Online Newspapers Daily
The Emory Libraries have some good news for you — as an Emory student or employee, you have free, convenient online access to a vast selection of newspapers!
To locate a specific e-newspaper or e-journal:
- Go to the Emory Libraries ejournal tool and look up the title
- Log in with your Network id and password to start reading
And here are the links to a few popular newspapers (Bookmark and use daily for Emory authentication and/or create an Emory Proxy Resolver Bookmarklet)
- The Chronicle of Higher Education
- The Atlanta Journal-Constitution (look up by title – past 60 days via PressDisplay) — or search The Atlanta Journal-Constitution using NewsBank https://tinyurl.com/EmoryAJC
- PressDisplay database (for access to other recent newspapers and magazines from around the world)
For access to the digital New York Times, see the New York Times@ Emory guide
For access to The Wall Street Journal online, see The Wall Street Journal guide.
For access to other recent newspapers and magazines from around the world, browse the PressDisplay database.
If you have questions about accessing online newspapers or journals, contact our Subject Librarian, Jennifer Elder
RELEVANT LINKS