Make an Appointment at the Emory Writing Center
The Emory Writing Center offers personalized one-to-one support for writing assignments. You can book sessions with tutors by appointment or drop-in during walk-in hours.
Zotero
Zotero helps you collect, manage, and cite research sources. Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies using Word or Open Office.
Annotated Bibliographies
The official APA, Chicago, and MLA Style manuals all have specific and helpful instructions on formatting annotated bibliographies and we have these in our library (see boxes below). In addition, the Purdue University Online Writing Lab provides examples of how to format annotated bibliographies using various styles.
Cite Using APA Style
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: Robert W. Woodruff Library Book Stacks BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01
The NEW Publication Manual of the APA, Seventh Edition, was published in the fall of 2019. Unfortunately, the Publication Manual of the APA, Seventh Edition, is not available as an e-book, but there are many good online resources that provide guidance on APA Style, 7th edition.
Some helpful online resources for citing sources in APA Style, Seventh Edition are:
- Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL) is a great resource for citing your sources in APA Style, 7th edition -- there are many helpful examples here for how to cite a variety of sources.
- The APA has a web page that describes "What's new in the seventh edition?"
- The University of Texas, Arlington has a helpful guide to the APA Style, Seventh Edition
- And East Carolina University Libraries has created a handy APA 6th/7th Comparison Quick Guide.
Chicago Style
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Chicago Manual of Style (2010)
Woodruff Library Reference, 2nd floor Z253 .U69 2010
MLA Handbook
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th edition.
New York : Modern Language Association of America, 2009
Woodruff Library Reference, 2nd Floor (LB2369 .G53 2009)
Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL) is a great resource for citing sources.
See their MLA Formatting and Style Guide and the section on MLA In-text Citations.