ANT 190: Animals Through the Ages

• Try different keywords and search terms using different databases and catalogs. Every database is different so some keywords and search terms work for one database but not for another.
• Expand your search:
  • Include synonyms and plural/singular forms of keywords. Separate synonyms by OR. Separate the synonyms from the rest of the words by using parentheses.
  • Use truncation symbols (or wildcard symbols) to include variations of your search terms (e.g. scien$ will search for sciences, scientific, scientfically, etc.).
• Narrow your search:
  • Combining different concepts/search terms with AND
  • Use the limit functions of the database. These are often located on the left side of the results page, or look in the database's Help menu to discover the limit functions it offers. Possibilities include limiting by date, language, type of article, etc.
• Keep a record of which search terms worked and in which databases. This can keep you from repeating your steps.
• Did you find an article you really like? Then, read the cited references (a.k.a. bibliography, end notes, footnotes) to find similar articles. This can bias your project by focusing on only one side of an issue so use caution with this method.
• Ask for help. Ask a librarian for search tips. Also, use the help screens in the databases for instructions and tips.

Ask Dr. Lonsdorf which citation style you should use for your paper. Biological Anthropologists often use use the American Journal of Biological Anthropology Style, or the American Psychological Association Style (APA).

The Emory Libraries Citing Your Sources Guide provides information about why to cite sources, how to avoid plagiarism, how to avoid common mistakes, and a list of style manuals.

You can also visit websites with basic guidelines on how to use common style formats. Some good websites include:

• Duke University Libraries, Citing Sources (Chicago and APA styles)
• OWL at Purdue, APA Formatting and Style Guide

Note: APA Style, 7^th edition (2020) is not available as an e-book, but the links above provide good guidance.

If you are not using a citation manager (e.g. Mendeley, Zotero, or EndNote), today is the day to start. The citation manager will automatically format your citations and bibliography, but don't forget to check it for accuracy!

The library offers workshops in Zotero and Endnote (upcoming classes).

Bibliographic management software can save a lot of time and frustration. Start organizing as soon as possible!

Zotero and Endnote are both excellent tools for organizing bibliographies and creating properly formatted citations. Zotero is freely available at their website and Emory has a site license for EndNote. You can obtain a copy by downloading the software from Emory's Software Express site (Emory network ID required). Mendeley, Papers, and Citavi are other popular software options.

Emory's Writing Center provides thoughtful one-on-one attention and feedback at any stage of the writing process.

Sessions with tutors are available by appointment or during walk-in hours.