UNCF Mellon Mays Summer Institute

Zotero helps you collect, manage, and cite research sources. Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies using Word or Open Office.

End​Note is a program that makes it possible to collect and organize references in a database and instantly create properly formatted bibliographies.

• Get help with EndNote
• Download EndNote

For examples and help, see the Purdue Online Writing Lab -- Research & Citation Resource

Emory library also provides a more robust guide to citation: https://guides.main.library.emory.edu/citing_your_sources

If you are not sure which citation style to use, this guide has helpful advice structured by discipline. It is worth checking with your advisor or the journal you are trying to publish in to see which style you should use.

How do I cite in Chicago style?

Chicago format is typically used in history and other humanities disciplines. There are two types of Chicago format: The author-date style uses parenthetical citations, which means that the citation information is within parentheses beside the quoted or paraphrased information. The note-bibliography (NB) style requires the use of footnotes or endnotes, which means that the citation information is either at the foot of the page or at the end of the article and is noted at the end of the quoted or paraphrased text with a number in superscript. For help with Chicago style, see the following:

• The Chicago Manual of Style Online
• The Chicago Manual of Style, Robert W. Woodruff Library Reference Z253 .U69 2010
• Purdue's Online Writing Lab Chicago style page.
• Consult the Turabian Guide for footnoting in Chicago style.
• You can copy and paste a reference cited in Chicago style directly from many of the library databases and from Google Scholar (to cite from Google Scholar, click on the quotation mark underneath the reference).
• You can also use a citation manager software, like Zotero or EndNote.

How do I cite sources in APA format?

APA format is commonly used in the social sciences. It involves the use of parenthetical in-text citations, which means that the citation information is within parentheses. You can get help with APA from the following:

• The Publication Manual of the APA (6th Edition) Reference Desk Woodruff Library BF76.7 .P83 2010
• Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) -- a useful and comprehensive guide to citing different types of sources in APA format.
• Sample APA Style Paper You can copy and paste a reference cited in APA style directly from many of the library databases and from Google Scholar (to cite from Google Scholar, click on the quotation mark underneath the reference).
• You can also use a citation manager software, like Zotero or EndNote.

How do I cite sources in MLA format?

MLA format is commonly used in the humanities. It involves the use of parenthetical in-text citations, which means that the citation information is within parentheses beside the quoted or paraphrased information. You can get help with MLA from the following:

• The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) offers a useful and comprehensive guide to citing different types of sources in MLA format.
• The MLA Handbook 2016 in the Robert W. Woodruff Library under this call number: LB2369 .G53 2016
• You can copy and paste a reference cited in MLA style directly from many of the library databases and from Google Scholar (to cite from Google Scholar, click on the quotation mark underneath the reference).
• You can also use a citation manager software, like Zotero or EndNote.

How do I cite sources in ASA format?

ASA format is commonly used in Sociology. It involves the use of parenthetical in-text citations, which means that the citation information is within parentheses beside the quoted or paraphrased information. You can get help with ASA from the following:

• The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) offers a useful and comprehensive guide to citing different types of sources in ASA format.
• The American Sociological Association provides a "Quick Tips for ASA Style" sheet
• The ASA Handbook 2014 in the Robert W. Woodruff Library under this call number: HM569 .A54 2014
• You can copy and paste a reference cited in ASA style directly from many of the library databases and from Google Scholar (to cite from Google Scholar, click on the quotation mark underneath the reference).
• You can also use a citation manager software, like Zotero or EndNote.