Ask me
Atlanta Newspapers
The Atlanta Newspaper Research Guide provides an overview of how to find current and historical newspapers from Atlanta and the surrounding region.
International News Databases
Factiva
Similar to Lexis-Nexis Academic, Factiva is primarily a news database. You can search approximately 8,000 publications in 22 languages (as well as 9,000 Web sites). Great for getting the local perspective on your issue by reading the local newspapers from countries around the world.
World News Connection
A Foreign News Service from the U.S. Government that offers translated and English-language news and information. Includes the local media sources in foreign countries and regions. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources covering socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events.
Government Information
In addition to the websites of county and state governmental units, federal government documents and agency websites can provide a wealth of policy and statistical information. The U.S. Government Documents Guide provides and overview of these resources.
The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) provides information on several relevant topics and offers an open data portal.
The Georgia Division of Public Health is a good source for public health data as it relates specifically to the state of Georgia.
USDA Data Services
- USDA Economic Research Service (ERS)The Economic Research Service provides key indicators, outlook analysis, and a wealth of data on the U.S. food and agricultural system. Along with information on farming practices, structure, and performance, ERS produces data on such diverse topics as farm and rural households, commodity markets, food marketing, agricultural trade, diet and health, food safety, food and nutrition assistance programs, natural resources and the environment, and the rural economy.
- USDA Foreign Agricultural Service (FSA)Foreign Agricultural Service maintains a global agricultural market intelligence and commodity reporting service to provide U.S. farmers and traders with information on world agricultural production and trade for use in adjusting to changes in world demand for U.S. agricultural products. Reporting includes data on foreign government policies, analysis of supply and demand conditions, commercial trade relationships, and market opportunities. In addition to survey data, crop condition assessment relies heavily on computer-aided analyses of satellite, meteorological, agricultural, and related data.
- USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS)National Agricultural Statistics Service collects, summarizes, analyzes, and publishes agricultural production and marketing data on a wide range of items, including number of farms and land in farms, acreage, yield, production, stocks of grains, and numerous commodities. The Census of Agriculture is conducted every five years to collect information on the number of farms, land use, production expenses, value of land, buildings, and farm products, farm size, characteristics of farm operators, market value of agricultural production sold, acreage of major crops, inventory of livestock and poultry, and farm irrigation practices.
- USDA Rural DevelopmentRural Business-Cooperative Service collects, summarizes, analyzes, and publishes data from annual surveys of U.S. farmer, rancher, and fishery cooperatives. The data is published in RBS Service Reports. The data is also available in Excel spreadsheets by state and type of cooperative. The Cooperative Directory presents a listing of those cooperatives willing to be listed, by State. The directory contains: contact information, type of cooperative, and products sold, and is updated monthly.