Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online
Coverage: 1543-1945
The greatest single source for the study of women's history in the
world, with materials spanning four centuries and fifteen languages.
This online resource delivers two million page images exactly as they
appeared in the original printed works. Users can trace the evolution
of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one
country's movement on those of the others. In many cases, it also
provides easy access to primary sources otherwise available only in a
few rare book rooms.
North American Women's Diaries & Letters
Coverage: Colonial-1950
Includes the immediate experiences of some 200 women, as revealed in more than 28,000 pages of diaries and letters. The collection includes one of the most comprehensive bibliographies of women's diaries and letters yet published. It lists over 2,000 published and unpublished items from a variety of sources, including online resources and microform.
Coverage: 1600-2000
resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the website seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding. Women & Social Movements includes thousands of primary source and secondary source materials, plus documentary projects, reference and teaching tools, and subject, author, and image indexes.
Google Scholar searches specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
For all of the publications below, you can visit the newspapers' home pages for recent content or use our library resources such as Emory's catalog, Library Search, and ejournals@Emory to find current and past content.
New York Times (current NYTimes digital version with images)
***NOTE: There are many ways to get articles from The New York Times.
***To find articles from publications not listed above, OR publications listed above for which you want to access historical (even recent past) content:
Feminist Collection
Available through Contemporary Women's Issues.
Feminist Formations(Continuation of NWSA Journal)
Feminist Review
HQ1154 .F4465
Feminist Studies: FS
HQ1101 .F455
HQ1190 .F465
Gender & History
HQ1101 .G46
Gender & Society
HQ1075 .G457
Hypatia
HQ1101 .H9
Formerly published under the title Women's Studies International Forum
HQ1101 .W775 (v. 5-v.29, 1982-2006) Now a separate journal.
Journal of Women's History
HQ1101 .J68
NWSA Journal
HQ1186 .U6 N87
Sex Roles
HQ786 .S4 (v.1-v.55, 1975-2006)
Signs: Journal of Women in Culture & Society
HQ1101 .S55
TSQ: Transgender Studies Quarterly
E-only
Woman's Art Journal
N72 .F45W64
Women & Politics
HQ1236 .W63 (v.1-v.26, 1980-2004)
Continued as Journal of Women, Politics & Policy
HQ1236 .W63
Women's Review of Books
Micfilm 1635
Current issues shelved in Current Periodicals until replaced by microfilm.
Women's Studies
HQ1101 .W77 (v.1-v.28, 1972-1999)