Need Help?
Finding Books and Films
Use the library catalog to find books, journals, films, government documents, microfilm collections and other materials at the Emory Libraries. Emory owns many DVDs related to anthropology in addition to the streaming content. These are included in the library catalog, but may be difficult to identify. Contact the Anthropology Librarian if you need help identifying films on your topic.
Streaming Ethnographic and Documentary Film Databases:
-
Anthropology Collection - Alexander St PressCollection of documentary films in streaming video format for the visual study of human culture and behavior. Includes classic and contemporary documentaries produced by leading video producers in the discipline; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films.
-
Kanopy Streaming MediaHundreds of classic and contemporary ethnographic films from around the world.
-
Docuseek2Streaming video database covering the films by the distributors Bullfrog Films and Icarus Films. It contains documentaries in the areas of: Environmental Studies, Political Science, Peace & Justice, Criminal Justice, Latin American, History, Art, Media Studies, and more.
-
ProjectrA curated collection of acclaimed movies, archival restorations, and award-winning documentaries from around the world. Hosted by the educational film distributor Grasshopper Film, it includes a large selection of their titles as well as films from other independent and educational distributors. Browse via their main page or the subject directory.
Beyond Emory
We try to provide everything you need for your research, but no library can do it all. If you find something that we don't have, we'll get it for you from another library using interlibrary loan, or contact the Anthropology Librarian for additional help.
Tozzer Library
One of the great anthropology collections is at Harvard University in the Tozzer Library. The library collects comprehensively in all four subfields of anthropology and covers a broad geographic range with special emphasis on indigenous peoples of the Americas. Tozzer Library is also renowned for their collections of primary sources and other rare materials (e.g. Maya language materials, Spanish Colonial documents, and field notes).
Worldcat
This catalog searches the collections of more than 9,000 member institutions, including most of the major libraries in North America, and many in Western Europe and Australia. If you can't find what you're looking for at Emory or in the Tozzer Library at Harvard, this is a great place to look.
Browsing for Books in the Library
Archeological texts are distributed throughout the library collection and are often classified by the geographic region of study. If you like to browse, consult the Library of Congress Classification Outline to identify relevant call ranges beyond Anthropology (GN1-890). For example:
- CC1-190 Archaeology
- E51 - E73 History of the Americas. Pre-Columbian America
- F1218.5 - F1221 Mexico. Antiquities. Indians
- GN700-890 Anthropology. Prehistoric Archaeology
Note on LC classification and subject headings: Remember that while the LC classification system organizes a diverse body of knowledge, like all classification systems it reflects the worldview of those who created it and therefore is biased in some ways. This is particularly important to keep in mind when looking for material related to Indigenous peoples, LGBTQ topics, and interdisciplinary topics. Kam (2007) provides a brief overview of some of the issues.