Need Help?
General Reference Resources
Reference sources such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, or guides to the literature are a great way to find background information on a topic as well as build a vocabulary for more effective searches. Below are a few online and print resources to get you started. We have many more resources so if you don't see what you need here, search the library catalog.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online
Guide to scholarly literature in a variety of subject areas. The above link will take you to a wide-ranging list of articles related to archaeology. Browse the articles in the list or search for articles on your topic. Here are a few relevant selections:- Archaeology and Historical Archaeology
- Experimental Archaeology
- Global Archaeology - This article features many resources related to ethics in archaeology. Check Library Search and relevant databases for additional materials. Authors may not always use the term ethics so also try terms like cultural heritage, cultural property, postcolonial archaeology, social archaeology, etc.
- Indigenous Archaeology
- Archaeology and Childhood
- Archaeology and Race
- Archaeology of the Senses
- Archaeobotany
- Bioarchaeology
- Annual Reviews Online
A database of literature reviews from a wide variety of fields. Browsing is more difficult here so start by searching for your topic. These reviews include extensive bibliographies and are a great way to begin more intensive research.
Handbooks and Encyclopedias
To find more archaeology encyclopedias, search for archeology encyclopedia or prehistoric encyclopedia as the keyword in the library catalog. Use the spelling 'archeology' to retrieve items spelled archaeology and archeology (Why the spelling difference?). There are many other encyclopedias available for particular regions, cultures, and periods. To find additional handbooks, search for anthropology handbook or archeology handbook as the keyword in the library catalog.
Handbook of Postcolonial Archaeology by
This essential handbook explores the relationship between the postcolonial critique and the field of archaeology, a discipline that developed historically in conjunction with European colonialism and imperialism. In aiding the movement to decolonize the profession, the contributors to this volume--themselves from six continents and many representing indigenous and minority communities and disadvantaged countries--suggest strategies to strip archaeological theory and practice of its colonial heritage and create a discipline sensitive to its inherent inequalities. Summary articles review the emergence of the discipline of archaeology in conjunction with colonialism, critique the colonial legacy evident in continuing archaeological practice around the world, identify current trends, and chart future directions in postcolonial archaeological research.
ISBN: 1315427680Publication Date: 2016
The Oxford Handbook of Archaeology by Call Number: CC165 .O94 2009ISBN: 9780199271016Publication Date: 2009
The Encyclopedia of Archaeological Sciences, 4 Volume Set by
An advanced resource on the emerging trends and foundational theories of archaeological science, offering students and scholars a reliable reference on the most current techniques and practices The Encyclopedia of Archaeological Sciences provides an authoritative and comprehensive overview of the scientific concepts and techniques that have shaped the contemporary discipline of archaeology. Sponsored by the Society for Archaeological Sciences, this is an essential resource on core topics in the integration of scientific methods into archaeological practice with extensive coverage on subjects of interdisciplinary interest, describing both the latest in technological and scientific developments as well as the foundational theoretical approaches that connect archaeology to broader topics in the social sciences and humanities. In a four-volume set comprised of over 480 entries as selected by leading researchers in the field, this encyclopedic reference work represents the contributions of scholars working all over the world, making this a truly international resource, suitable to support the work of archaeologists engaged with global questions on both the past and future of the discipline. Designed to provide detailed information on theoretical and applied topics, The Encyclopedia of Archaeological Sciences covers the foundations of archaeological science, modern field methods in archaeology, scientific techniques for the analysis of the characteristics and properties of materials, applications of mathematics and computer sciences, conservation studies, and theoretical approaches to the study of material culture and the applications of archaeological science. Working to support the integration of scientific methods and technologies into the standard practice and study of archaeology, The Encyclopedia of Archaeological Sciences is built upon the most important advances in recent scholarship and offers informed insight into the future of archaeology as a scientific discipline. This work is also available as an online resource: www.archaeologicalsciencesencyclopedia.com
Publication Date: 2019
Encyclopedia of Global Archaeology by Publication Date: 2019
Handbook of Archaeological Theories by Call Number: CC72 .H36 2008ISBN: 9780759100329Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Archaeology by Publication Date: 2008Also available in print, Woodruff Library Reference CC70 .E54 2008. 3 vols.
International Handbook of Historical Archaeology by Call Number: CC77 .H5 I57 2009ISBN: 9780387720685Publication Date: 2009
