This research guide is designed as a starting point for legal research on the United States antitrust laws. It provides a useful, but not exhaustive, list of resources. The guide includes both primary and secondary sources, in both print and electronic formats.
Research requires analysis and synthesis of information, and no one resource will likely provide sufficient information or data on any given topic. The Legal Information Institute at Cornell has an excellent overview of Antitrust Law you may want to review if this is your first exposure to antitrust laws. Also, the Federal Trade Commission provides Guide to Antitrust Laws, which is a good primer for antitrust research.
Primary sources are the actual laws and rules issued by governing bodies that tell us what we can and cannot do. The four primary sources are constitutions, statutes, cases, and regulations. These laws and rules are issued by official bodies from the three branches of government.
Federal antitrust laws and regulations include:
Sherman Act 26 Stat. 209, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1–7
Pub.L. 63–212, 38 Stat. 730, codified at 15 U.S.C. §§ 12–27, 29 U.S.C. §§ 52–53
The Federal Trade Commission Act of 1914
Also known as the Anti-Price Discrimination Act. Pub. L. No. 74-692, 49 Stat. 1526 (codified at 15 U.S.C. § 13).
Commonly referred to as the HSR Act. PL 94-435; 15 U.S.C. §18a
Title 16 of the CFR encompasses the Federal Trade Commission rules and regulations.
FTC regulatory notices.
Bloomberg Law (limited access, on campus only). Bloomberg Law provides access to primary and secondary legal content, company and market information and news, along with integrated Bloomberg BNA content. Highlights of Bloomberg Law include Practice Centers, Litigation and Dockets, and Transactional Law. This version of Bloomberg Law lacks features only available to account holders but may be used by all Emory users on campus.
Hein Online. Contains over 100 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. The most popular HeinOnline libraries include the Law Journal Library, the Session Laws Library, and the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, with exact page images of the documents in PDF format just as they appear in the original print.
JSTOR. JSTOR, the Journal Storage Project, provides access to digitized versions to complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, the humanities, literature, the sciences, the social sciences, and selected scholarly journals in related disciplines such as business, ecology, botany, music, and statistics. JSTOR represents the building blocks of a truly interdisciplinary scholarly journal archive.
Lexis Nexis Academic (FOR NON-LAW STUDENTS). A version of Lexis Nexis geared toward non-law students. Access includes primary materials (case law, statutes and regulations), limited secondary sources (American Jurisprudence 2d, Martindale-Hubbell and Bieber’s Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations) and Shepard’s.
Westlaw (FOR NON-LAW STUDENTS). A version of Westlaw geared toward non-law students. Access includes primary materials (case law, statutes and regulations), limited secondary sources (law journals, American Law Reports & American Jurisprudence 2d) and KeyCite.
Academic Journals
Journal of Antitrust Enforcement: Published by Oxford University Press.
Articles In Progress
Current Awareness Resources
Government Agencies
International Organizations
Think-Tanks
Professional Organization
