Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Antitrust Research for Non-Law Students: Subject Introduction and Resources

Subject Introduction

This research guide is designed as a starting point for legal research on the United States antitrust laws. It provides a useful, but not exhaustive, list of resources. The guide includes both primary and secondary sources, in both print and electronic formats.

Research requires analysis and synthesis of information, and no one resource will likely provide sufficient information or data on any given topic. The Legal Information Institute at Cornell has an excellent overview of Antitrust Law you may want to review if this is your first exposure to antitrust laws. Also, the Federal Trade Commission provides Guide to Antitrust Laws, which is a good primer for antitrust research. 

Primary Sources

Primary sources are the actual laws and rules issued by governing bodies that tell us what we can and cannot do.  The four primary sources are constitutions, statutes, cases, and regulations. These laws and rules are issued by official bodies from the three branches of government.

Federal antitrust laws and regulations include:

Databases

Bloomberg Law (limited access, on campus only). Bloomberg Law provides access to primary and secondary legal content, company and market information and news, along with integrated Bloomberg BNA content. Highlights of Bloomberg Law include Practice Centers, Litigation and Dockets, and Transactional Law. This version of Bloomberg Law lacks features only available to account holders but may be used by all Emory users on campus.

Hein Online. Contains over 100 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. The most popular HeinOnline libraries include the Law Journal Library, the Session Laws Library, and the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, with exact page images of the documents in PDF format just as they appear in the original print.

JSTOR. JSTOR, the Journal Storage Project, provides access to digitized versions to complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, the humanities, literature, the sciences, the social sciences, and selected scholarly journals in related disciplines such as business, ecology, botany, music, and statistics. JSTOR represents the building blocks of a truly interdisciplinary scholarly journal archive.

Lexis Nexis Academic (FOR NON-LAW STUDENTS). A version of Lexis Nexis geared toward non-law students.  Access includes primary materials (case law, statutes and regulations), limited secondary sources (American Jurisprudence 2d, Martindale-Hubbell and Bieber’s Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations) and Shepard’s. 

Westlaw (FOR NON-LAW STUDENTS).  A version of Westlaw geared toward non-law students.  Access includes primary materials (case law, statutes and regulations), limited secondary sources (law journals, American Law Reports & American Jurisprudence 2d) and KeyCite.  

Secondary Sources

Academic Journals 

Articles In Progress

Current Awareness Resources 

  • Legal Theory Blog
  • Law Professor Blogs Network: Network of legal blogs edited primarily by law professors. 
  • Justia BlawgSearch: Search over a thousand law blogs published by law professors, lawyers, judges, legal researchers and librarians. 
  • AntitrustConnect Blog: Sponsored by Wolters Kluwer Law & Business, this blog is a forum for discussion, analysis, and commentary on antitrust law issues.
  • ABA Blawg Directory: A searchable topical directory of more than 4,500 law blogs. 
  • SCOTUSblog: Commentary and news on the Supreme Court of the United States. See Petitions for issue summaries and dockets.

Subject Guide