Law Journals, political science journals, and treatises are good ways to start your research on the law of other countries, as well as U.S. law and interdisciplinary subjects. Find citations and dates for the primary documents you need, as well as explanations and analysis. These e-book and journal databases are all subscription resources available at Emory.
Search the library online catalog for books on foreign and comparative law, or any other topic you're researching. To find foreign law, use an "in subject" search in Advanced Search with the country you are researching and law, and any other specific subjects (patent, commercial, domestic relations). The catalog includes records for ebooks as well, with database links.
Treatises on Westlaw: Find treatises on Westlaw by Content Type>Secondary Sources> Texts & Treatises, and then search by title or select your topic.
Westlaw: International Treatises. Multi-National and by Jurisdiction. Include commercial and business subjects, and general "doing business in" titles.
Treatises on Lexis: Find titles by country under International, or by Practice Area including International Law. You can also find treatises under Content>Treatises & Guides.
Bloomberg Law: Includes some books and treatises, as well as portfolios, news, and other practice area materials
Kluwer Arbitration includes nearly 200 books and treatises on investment and commercial arbitration, including yearbooks, ICCA Reports, and jurisdiction specific guides. Emory will lose access to Kluwer Arbitration on October 31, 2025.
vLex Justis includes secondary legal materials, law journals, and newspapers, from Latin America and many European countries. It has its own translation feature, allowing searching in English, and retrieving results with parallel text (original and translation).
Oxford Academic: Includes ebooks on law, including works on comparative law. Find them by searching for titles in the library catalog and using the links. Emory will lose access to Oxford Academic on December 31, 2025.
JSTOR: Includes book chapters as well as journal articles
Hein Online Law Journal Library and International & Non-US Law Journals : Law review articles, including older journals and non-U.S. titles, in PDF. Use the Citation Navigator to find articles if you already have a citation.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (Hein Online): Index to books and law review articles from foreign journals, with links to articles available in Hein Online or through other databases available at Emory. Browse by country or subject, or search by keyword, subject, country subject, or country of publication.
Kluwer Law International Journal Library (on Hein Online): Specialty journals on international subjects including international arbitration, European company law, and world trade, usually with an embargo for recent year issues.
vLex Justis: includes foreign law journals and newspapers (some in English), arranged by country.
Westlaw International Journals: Law journals from other countries, plus multi-national journals
Lexis Plus: Law journals from Australia, Canada, China, India, and the United Kingdom
ChinaLaw Info (PKULaw in Chinese version): Includes law journals in English and Chinese. Access to the full-text of the documents requires being on campus- or for us, logging into VPN.
Use Emory A to Z Databases to find Emory's databases by subject or by type of database. Or try these databases for inter-disciplinary research in multiple subject areas.
JSTOR: Full-text, pdf journals, including older volumes, plus book chapters and book reviews. Disciplines include Feminist & Women's Studies, International Relations, Public Health, Public Policy, Economics, Psychology, Criminology & Criminal Justice, History, and Statistics.
Academic Search Complete: Multi-disciplinary database of full-text scholarly journals, periodicals, and newspapers. Searchable by full-text and fields. You can limit your search by publication type, document type (article, interview), or images. Many articles are available full-text in PDF or HTML, others have Find it @ Emory links to the catalog entries for the item in other databases.
Business Source Complete: Database of full-text popular and scholarly business journals in marketing, accounting, finance, and economics. Includes company profiles, industry profiles, and market research reports. You can limit your search by publication type, company, or ticker symbol.
PAIS International: Searchable index of articles, books, policy papers, and government documents in public policy, social policy, and social sciences, including international journals. Results as citations and abstracts with Find it @ Emory links.
Social Sciences Full Text: Full-text journals in the social sciences, including anthropology, political science, sociology, economics, and related fields.
Emory Library Search/Articles+: The catalog for the Emory libraries is also a database for searching articles in multiple campus databases. Log in first as an Emory user to get access to journal databases. Use the link to Articles+, search, then refine your search results by resource type, subject, or collection. Results will include links to the articles in campus databases.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI): U.S. and foreign journal articles on Latin America and on Hispanics in the U.S. Subjects include politics, government, and history. Some articles are available in English. Results are citations, some with full-text links.
You may need newspapers in your research, for finding recent and unpublished trial-level cases, historical information, op-eds, or information on state and local legislation.
Databases with current and modern newspaper content:
Historical newspapers (1980s and earlier):
Other newspaper databases at Emory:
Woodruff Library has a Research Guide to finding newspapers in databases available at Emory.
