Finding Full-Text
BOOKS - start your search with discoverE and if the full-text facet is not offering you enough results, consider expanding to the COMBINED tab.
- Electronic document delivery is now available to all undergraduates (detailed instructions). Library staff will scan a book chapter or article in a physical volume.
ARTICLES - When you are searching for an article in a library database and you want to get the full-text of the article, there are 4 possible scenarios you could face.
Scenario 1: The full-text is available in the database you are searching. EASY! Just click the full-text link.
Scenario 2: The "Find it @ Emory" button 
leads you to the full-text in another database. There are two steps in this process:
- Click the Find it @ Emory button.
- Click on the link to the resource that is listed after "Full text available at:"
Scenario 3: The "Find it @ Emory" button does not lead to the full-text, but the Libraries own the print copy of the journal.
- Search the journal title in discoverE. You can limit your search using "Journals" in the drop-down below the search box.
- When you find the record for the journal, click the "Locate/Request Item" tab to see what volumes we have.
- If you find your volume and it's located in the library you are in, you can use the call number to find the volume in the bookstacks.
- If you find your volume and it's located at a different library or the Library Service Center, you can request the volume if you log in to discoverE (use "Log In" at top right of discoverE). Another option is to request just the article you need using the "Request Article or Chapter" tab in discoverE -- if available. This will give you the option of getting the article scanned for you.
Scenario 4: We do not have the article online or in print but you can request it using our Interlibrary Loan service. (Click the "Locate/Request Item" tab and then "Request via Interlibrary Loan" to have the request form pre-filled for you.)