Ask the Middle EAst & Islamic Studies Librarian
540 Asbury Circle
Atlanta, Georgia 30322
Ask Jewish Studies Librarian
Open Access in Israel
The National Library of Israel
The National Library of Israel serves three traditional roles: national library of the State of Israel, national library of the Jewish people and as the central research library of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem.
The digital library has many collections. A collection I have found most useful in answering reference questions is the Historical Jewish Press, a digitized collection of newspapers from various countries and time periods and in various languages. It includes browsing capability and advanced search options.
Visual Memory includes old photographs of Palestine/Israel from the last 150 years.
Open Access in Iran
Iranian Research Information System
Iran's research database has been set up with the aim of collecting all the scientific and research information available in the country. It covers almost all scientific journals in Iran.
Open Access in Qatar
Qatar Digital Library is free to use. This growing archive covers modern history and culture of the Gulf and wider region, available online for the first time. The QDL provides access to Archival files, Letters, Maps, Manuscripts, Photographs.
Open Access for Islamic Studies
Access to Mideast and Islamic Resources (AMIR)
Searchable curated list of online sites related to Middle East and Islam. Also browsable by tag.
"Archnet is open access, intellectual resource focused on architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation issues related to the Muslim world. "
"Resources for exploring new and diverse perspectives on the people, places, histories, beliefs, and cultures of Muslims." Not limited to the Middle East. Based on books selected for the national book discussion project