Google vs Google Scholar vs Library Databases
Helpful databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
- AccessScience Encyclopedia of Science and Technology This link opens in a new windowSource of reference for major scientific disciplines. Useful to identify and locate primary research material, videos, and teaching material.
- BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowAccess an index to life science and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowProduced by the National Library of Medicine, this biomedical database includes over 30 million citations and dates back to 1946.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full-text of Elsevier journals in science, technology and medicine, as well as selected social sciences and humanities titles.
- Scopus (SciVerse Scopus) This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Covers science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowA collection of multidisciplinary citation databases, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and more.
All databases
- A-Z DatabasesFind the best library databases for your research--contains all databases Emory is subscribed to.
Locate items in the Catalog
- Library SearchSearch books, e-books, journals, videos, and more in the Emory University Library Catalog.
Locate items outside of Emory
Emory doesn't own a copy of the book you want? Looking for a journal Emory doesn't subscribe to? Request via Interlibrary Loan!
Emory's Interlibrary Loan service can get you items from libraries outside of Emory. Note: The service is free!