Historical texts on Art Historical Methods and Theories
Search discoverE or Worldcat, using terms like Art -- Methodology or Art -- Historiography; Art -- History; Art -- Philosophy -- History; Art criticism -- History; Many of these titles have a VERY Western focus.
Methodologies of Art by ISBN: 9780064303125The methodologies discussed here--formal analysis, iconology and iconography, Marxism, feminism, biography and autobiography, psychoanalysis, and structuralism--reflect the multiplicity of meanings in an artistic image.
The Art of Art History by ISBN: 9780199229840The book includes writers from Winckelmann, Kant, and Hegel to Foucault, Carol Duncan, and Mary Kelly on such subjects as aesthetics and anthropology, postmodern automatons, semiotics and iconography, performative acts, the museum as ritual, digital art, and many others.
Art History and Its Methods by ISBN: 9780714829913Publication Date: 1995-09-07This critical anthology brings together the work of 27 art historians and writers from the Renaissance to the present day
Art History by ISBN: 0719069580Offers a lucid account of approaches from Hegel to post-colonialism by explaining the philosophical and political assumptions behind each approach using clear examples
Views of Difference by ISBN: 0300077637This book discusses perspectives on pre-colonial Indian art and considers the effects of imperialist ways of looking even in places without direct European colonial control.
Art History after Modernism by ISBN: 0226041840Belting calls for an entirely new approach to thinking and writing about art. He examines both contemporary issues--the rise of global and minority art and its consequences for Western art history, installation and video art, and the troubled institution of the art museum--and questions central to art history's definition of itself, such as the distinction between high and low culture, art criticism versus art history, and the invention of modernism in art history.
Art History: the Basics by ISBN: 9780415373098Publication Date: 2007-12-19What is art and art history? What are the main methodologies used to understand art? How have ideas about form, sex and gender shaped representation? What connects art with psychoanalysis, semiotics and Marxism? How are globalization and postmodernism changing art and art history?
Art Theory by ISBN: 9781405184144Six chapters covering the major periods of Western art history: Antiquity and the Middle Ages, the early modern period (Renaissance and Baroque), the Enlightenment, the nineteenth century, early twentieth-century modernism, and postmodernism.
A Companion to Art Theory by ISBN: 0631207627Survey of Western visual art theory
Theories of Art by ISBN: 0415926254A 3-volume history of art theory. Vol 1: From Plato to Winckelmann; Vol 2: From Winckelmann to Baudelaire; Vol 3: From Impressionism to Kandinsky. Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
Theory for Art History by ISBN: 0415973635Publication Date: 2005-08-09This book includes key concepts, biography, survey of work, bibliography of primary texts, and a bibliography of secondary criticism.
Theoretical Texts
- The Required Readings for this Class
- Other Suggested Readings
- Historical texts on Art Historical Methods and Theories
Don't forget to read BOOK REVIEWS of any text you are exploring - Reading book reviews can help you decide whether or not a particular book is worth your time, and also can help you put the author's work in context and suggest other places to look.
- Book Review Digest Plus This link opens in a new windowIndexes reviews of current fiction and non-fiction, with excerpts and full text available.
- Choice Reviews Online This link opens in a new windowAccess concise reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education published in Choice.
BOOK REVIEWS
You can search BOOK REVIEWS on google, in newspapers, in disciple specific journals, etc. Often starting with JSTOR is a good start. SMICK,
REBEKAH. “Review of Visual Time: The Image in History.” Renaissance and Reformation / Renaissance et Réforme, vol. 38, no. 4, 2015, pp. 210–13. JSTOR
Required Texts for ARTHIST 590
Visual Time by Call Number: N7480 .M69 2013ISBN: 0822353547Keith Moxey argues that the discipline of art history has been too attached to interpreting works of art based on a teleological categorization--demonstrating how each work influences the next as part of a linear sequence--which he sees as tied to Western notions of modernity.
Painting by Numbers by ISBN: 9780691214948A pathbreaking history of art that uses digital research and economic tools to reveal enduring inequities in the formation of the art historical canon P
Reconstructions: Architecture and Blackness in America by Call Number: NA738.N5 R43 2021ISBN: 1633451143How American architecture can address systemic anti-Black racism: a creative challenge in 10 case studies Reconstructions: Architecture and Blackness in America is an urgent call for architects to accept the challenge of reconceiving and reconstructing our built environment rather than continue giving shape to buildings, infrastructure and urban plans that have, for generations, embodied and sustained anti-Black racism in the United States.
Other Suggested Readings
- Preziosi, Donald. 1992. “The Question of Art History,” Critical Inquiry 18, 2: 363-386.
- Dean, Carolyn. 2006. “The Trouble with (the Term) Art.” Art Journal 65, 2: 24-32.
- Baines, John. 2015. “What is Art?” In M. Hartwig, A Companion to Ancient Egyptian Art. Malden MA and Oxford UK: Wiley Blackwell, 1-21.
- Ahmed, Sara. 2007. “A Phenomenology of Whiteness,” Feminist Theory 8, 2: 149-168
- Didi-Huberman, Georges. 2003. “Before the Image, Before Time: The Sovereignty of Anachronism.” In Compelling Visuality: The Work of Art in and out of History, edited by Claire Farago and Robert Zwijnenberg. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 31-44.
- Milbourne, Karen E., with Mary Nooter Roberts and Allen F. Roberts. 2015. “Senses of Time: Video and Film-Based Arts of Africa,” African Arts 48, 4: 72-84.
- Mott, Carrie, and Daniel Cockayne. 2017. “Citation Matters: Mobilizing the Politics of Citation toward a Practice of ‘Conscientious Engagement,” Gender, Place & Culture: A Journal of Feminist Geography 24, 7: 954-973.
- FitzPatrick Sifford, Elena, and Ananda Cohen-Aponte. “A Call to Action,” Art Journal 78, 4: 118- 122.
- Jaskot, Paul B. 2020. “Digital Methods and the Historiography of Art.” In The Routledge Companion to Digital Humanities and Art History, edited by Kathryn Brown. New York: Routledge, 9-17.
- Nelson, Steven. 2019. “Reviews: Traces of Violence, Signs of Change; Humor and Violence: Seeing Europeans in Central African Art, by Z. S. Strother,” The Art Bulletin 101, 1: 122-124.
-
Taussig, Michael. 1999. “Prologue” and “Sacrilege.” In Defacement: Public Secrecy and the Labor of the Negative. Stanford: Stanford University Press, 1-45.
-
Flood, Finbarr Barry. 2002. “Between Cult and Culture: Bamiyan, Islamic Iconoclasm, and the Museum,” The Art Bulletin, 84, 4: 641-659.