Subject Guide
Helpful Links for Remote Access
ACRL Research Framework
Textbook
Cities of Tomorrow by ISBN: 9781118456477Peter Hall's seminal Cities of Tomorrow remains an unrivalled account of the history of planning in theory and practice, as well as of the social and economic problems and opportunities that gave rise to it. Now comprehensively revised the fourth edition offers a perceptive, critical, and global history of urban planning and design throughout the twentieth-century and beyond. A revised and updated edition of this classic text from one of the most notable figures in the field of urban planning andd esign Offers an incisive, insightful, and unrivalled critical history of planning in theory and practice, as well as of the underlying socio-economic challenges and opportunities Comprehensively revised to take account of abundant new research published over the last decade Reviews the development of the modern planning movement over the entire span of the twentieth-century and beyond Draws on global examples throughout, and weaves the author?s own fascinating experiences into the text to illustrate this authoritative story of urban growth
Library Videos
Below are several videos for you to watch PRIOR to our virtual library instruction session:
- Using discoverE to find remote access material VIDEO
- JSTOR - search tips VIDEO
- Searching Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals VIDEO
- Zotero
Library Catalog - DiscoverE
Library catalog discoverE
Worldwide library catalog - Worldcat.org
Worldcat.org (free version) https://www.worldcat.org/
Reference
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowAccess a wide-variety of art resources across Oxford’s art reference works. Includes articles, visual arts, digital images, biographies, bibliographies, encyclopedias, and more.
The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of 20th Century Architecture by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 1849720185Publication Date: 2000-12-31
Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Architecture by Call Number: Robert W. Woodruff Library Reference (NA680 .E495 2004 )ISBN: 1579582435Publication Date: 2003-12-09
Encyclopedia of Architecture by Call Number: Robert W. Woodruff Library Reference (NA31 .E59 1988 )ISBN: 9780471807476Publication Date: 1988-02-26
Encyclopedia of American Architecture by Call Number: Robert W. Woodruff Library Book Stacks (NA705 .P3 1995 )ISBN: 9780070480100Publication Date: 1994-08-01
Contemporary Architects by Call Number: Robert W. Woodruff Library Reference (NA680 .C625 1994 )ISBN: 9781558621824Publication Date: 1994-12-01
Dictionary of Architecture and Building Construction by Call Number: Robert W. Woodruff Library Book Stacks (NA31 .D38 2008 )ISBN: 9780750685023Publication Date: 2008-07-24
Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture by Call Number: Robert W. Woodruff Library Book Stacks (NA31 .B83 2012 )ISBN: 9780071772938Publication Date: 2012-02-27
Great Buildings Online
Great Buildings Online is the gateway to architecture around the world and across history documents a thousand buildings and hundreds of leading architects, selected over ten years by the editors of ArchitectureWeek, with photographic images and architectural drawings, integrated maps and timelines, 3D building models, commentaries, bibliographies, web links, and more, for famous designers and structures of all kinds.