Skip to Main Content
 
 

*WHSC Library Guide to 2021-2022

Hours

What are the Library hours for Fall semester?
 

Beginning August 25th, 2021 our hours are:

Monday – Thursday, 7:30 am – 11 pm
Friday, 7:30 am – 9 pm
Saturday, 9 am – 7 pm
Sunday, 9 am – 11 pm

On Site Appointments

Do I need to make an appointment to come to the Library to study or use a computer?

Beginning July 1, appointments are not required to visit the library, however you must have completed the Emory onboarding to return to campus. This includes uploading your vaccine card or participating in mandatory weekly testing. 

Appointments are still required to reserve a study room. You may reserve a room for three two-hour blocks per day and must reserve online.

For further assistance with appointments,
please contact
Ask a Librarian or call our Information Desk at 404-727-8727.

Research Support & Consultations

How can I ask a research question? 

We provide virtual reference and research services through Ask a Librarian, Monday to Friday, 8 am - 6 pm and Saturday and Sunday, 9 am - 6 pm. All queries will be routed to the appropriate person.

Can I meet with an informationist?

Yes! You may reach out to individual informationists or click the button below to schedule a consultation via Zoom.

For other WHSC Library staff please see our library directory.

Classes, Workshops & Library Instruction

Can I schedule a library instruction session for my students in the Fall?

Yes. To request library instruction to support a specific class or assignment, please contact us with details at Ask a Librarian. Your request will be directed to an informationist who will work with you. 

Are there general library instruction sessions for the Fall?

Yes.  We are offering our workshops via Zoom as well as some in- person in the library. Check back later to see our fall offerings. 
Woodruff Library also hosts classes that you are welcome to attend.  Consult their 
Events Calendar for days and times 

Questions about PubMed, EndNote, Grey Literature, Systematic Reviews? 

Please contact us with details at Ask a Librarian. Your request will be directed to an informationist who will work with you, or see our calendar of  workshops for dates/times of upcoming classes.

Specialized Software

Can I use the specialized software?

Yes. Please come to the library and ask for assistance at the InfoDesk.

Course Reserves

How do I access course reserves?

Faculty may make content available to their students through Course Reserves or may send requests to Ask a LibrarianOur informationists can assist you in finding online versions of physical books or replacement readings.

Students can access Course Reserves through the LITS website.

Will the Library offer print course reserves on site in the fall semester?

Yes.

Online Materials

Do I have access to eBooks?

Yes.  Use the library catalog, discoverE, to search for eBooks. On the left-hand side of the results screen, you can select  to show only "Full Access Online" or "eBooks."  If you wish to limit a search just to eBooks, you can also use the Advanced Search and select material type: eBooks.

Where are the databases?

Use Databases@Emory to search for a relevant database by title, subject or database type.  In addition to our most frequently used health science databases, Emory Libraries licenses over 1,000 databases to support teaching and research. Many of our databases contain full-text journal content and include our   icon that links to full-text.

Can I access eJournals?

Yes.  The eJournals A-Z list provides a list of all electronic journals licensed by Emory Libraries.

Tools for Finding Full Text

What's the easiest way to find full text articles?

There are several plug-ins available to the Emory community that make it easier to identify Emory digital resources.

Option 1. LibKey Nomad, for Chrome, Firefox, & Edge is a free plugin that helps you access articles. Once it has been installed, the LibKey icon pops up on pages for electronic articles that are available through Emory. Learn how to install the plug in: LibKey Nomad Installation. 

Option 2. Another option is to install the Emory Proxy Resolver Bookmarklet for Chrome, Firefox & Safari.  If an article web page suggests you need to pay for the article, use this bookmarklet to see if it's available for free through Emory.  To install on your browser:

  1. Drag the Emory Proxy Resolver button below to your browser bookmarks bar, which you will need to have enabled.
  2. To view an article .pdf from off campus, click the bookmark. It should route the page through EZProxy and give you access.

undefined

Emory Proxy Resolver

 

Option 3. If you use Google Scholar, turn on the the Emory holdings in Settings > Library Links.

Borrowing Information

Can I borrow physical items?

Library stacks are now open to authorized borrowers.

Physical items may be requested for contact-free pick up. To request an item, please follow these steps:

1.    Go to the Library Catalog (discoverE) and sign in with your Emory NetID in the upper right corner.

2.    Search for the item you want and click on the title.

3.    Click on the Locate/Request Item tab.  Click on Request and fill in the required fields. Set the Pickup Location to Woodruff Health Sciences Ctr.

4.    When the item is available for pick up, you will receive an email notification.

5.    The item will be placed in a labelled bag on a cart in the outer vestibule of the Woodruff Health Sciences Center Library.  (All physical items are quarantined for 48 hours prior to delivery.)

6.    Items may be picked up during regular Library hours

How can I get books or articles?

Current Emory students, faculty and staff may request electronic delivery of book chapters and journal articles from the Emory Libraries collection. Requests in compliance with fair use guidelines will be scanned and delivered as PDF files via your ILLiad library account.

Can I get Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) of non-Emory items?

Current Emory students, faculty and staff may request electronic delivery of book chapters and journal articles from other libraries. Requests will be delivered as PDF files via your ILLiad library account. Please bear in mind that there may be considerable delays with the delivery of materials that must be scanned.

Can I renew my books online?

Yes. Library materials owned by Emory Libraries may be renewed conveniently online by logging into your Emory Library account in discoverE with your NetID and password. View the “Loans” section to see a list of materials currently checked out to you. Simply select “Renew All” or renew individual titles as needed. You may also email Ask a Librarian for assistance with renewing items.

Historical Collections

Historical Collections currently provides remote research services to facilitate access to the collection (staff will examine or scan materials on your behalf).  Beginning August 19, 2020, Historical Collections will be available for research by appointment only on Mondays and Tuesdays from 10am to 4pm.

To schedule an appointment or for any other queries, please contact Historical Collections staff via email at historical.collections@emory.edu.

LaserGene Remote Access

Lasergene may be accessed off campus by first logging in to the Emory VPN, then launching Lasergene. 

Click here for additional information about Lasergene.

Returning Materials

How do I return books?

Books may be returned to the cart in the outer vestibule of the Woodruff Health Sciences Center Library during business hours. (1462 Clifton Rd., Atlanta, GA 30030)

  • 24 hour return access is available at the book drops are located on either side of the main entrance of the Woodruff Library.  (Directions
  • If you are not in the Atlanta area, you may self-ship the items using a courier of your choice that offers package tracking capabilities. Please be sure to include your name and contact information and use the following address: 

Attn: Stacks Department  
Robert W. Woodruff Library 
Emory University 
540 Asbury Circle 
Atlanta, GA 30322 
404.727.6873 

  • If you reside outside of the Atlanta area and face a financial hardship that impacts your ability to return library materials, please complete the following Request for Assistance form and a staff member will be in touch to discuss assistance available for the return of library materials. 

Please email Ask a Librarian for further assistance.

On Site Safety

What precautions are you taking to protect library users and staff and minimize risk of infection?

  • Emory Safety Protocols must be followed.
  • Emory Building and Residential Services has increased the frequency and intensity of its cleaning regimens in some areas, focusing on common areas such as bathrooms, dining facilities, and meeting rooms.
  • There are cleaning supplies readily accessible throughout the library. In addition to wearing your mask at all times, we ask that you wipe down keyboards, mouse, and table surfaces before and after use.
  • Library staff are sanitizing computers, printers and scanner each evening.

Online Teaching Resources

Who can I ask about copyright considerations?

Staff members and librarians at Emory Libraries are working hard to support instructors’ needs for resources and information as they rapidly shift to an online teaching environment.
Who can I ask about Canvas?
Canvas support is available at Canvas Support.  Workshops including Canvas Essentials for Remote Teaching, are also available.

Visitors

Are visitors allowed to come to the Library to study or use a computer?

Yes. The Library welcomes visitors by appointment. Appointments may be scheduled for 4 hours with the possibility of renewal. Visitors are required to abide by Emory University's Visitor Policy and the WHSC Library's Visitor Policy throughout the visit and when on campus.

The Library provides two visitor computers to access electronic resources. These computers are reservable for one hour with the possibility of renewal if others are not waiting.

Book and print journal collections can be used in the Library. 

For further assistance with appointments,
please contact
Ask a Librarian or call our Information Desk at 404-727-8727.

WHSC Library Classes

Ask a Librarian!

Email us at
http://health.library.emory.edu/ask-librarian

Check your spam folder if you don't receive a reply.