Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

The Work Is Never Finished: Building an Inclusive Archives (2021-22 Exhibition)

Introduction

Angela "Ann" Jinks (now Ann Slaughter) looks at a bulletin board on the Oxford College campus, 1970. Slaughter was one of three African American students admitted to Oxford College of Emory University in 1968. Photo credit: Oxford College Archives, Emory University.

Angela "Ann" Jinks (now Ann Slaughter) was one of three African American students admitted to Oxford College of Emory University in 1968. This photograph appeared in the 1970 Memory, Oxford College's yearbook, and is part of the Oxford College Photograph Collection (OX-S025).

For this exhibition, Oxford College Library’s Archives & Special Collections Team has selected a small number of records, publications, and artifacts to illustrate aspects of early Emory College and Oxford College of Emory University history that have not yet been fully explored by researchers.

This exhibition provides insight into sensitive and troubling events in the college’s history. While great care has been taken to create space in the archives for the experiences of historically excluded and minoritized groups, especially the individuals named or involved in these events, the majority of the collections reflect the perspectives of privileged white men. Material related to ongoing efforts to acknowledge the legacies of slavery and dispossession still impacting the institution are also included, providing opportunities to consider ways to transform present struggles through intentional and sustainable change.