"We Are Family" -- song by Sister Sledge - Rhino Records
Register for Emory's NEW NYT Digital Program
Follow these steps to register for online and mobile access to the NYTimes:
1.Please use this link to get to Emory's NYT Digital Access.
2.You will be prompted to authenticate using your Emory NetID/Password.
3.Click Create Account to set up your NYTimes account.
4.Email Address: you must use your emory.edu email
5. What type of user are you?
- Student - you must select your Graduation Year
- Faculty/Staff/Administrator
6.Within an hour of clicking Sign Up, you will receive a welcome/confirmation email from NYTimes. Click on the link embedded in the email to complete your account activation.
You can now download the app for your mobile devices, sign in, and start reading the NYTimes. You can also log in directly to the nytimes.com website.
Questions? See FAQs below or email e-resources-l@listserv.cc.emory.edu
FAQs
FAQs
1. What if I already have a personal account from a personal subscription?
a. The NYT only allows for one account per user; so, if you already have an account because of a personal subscription, you will need to log in with that account, or cancel the subscription to take advantage of the Emory access.
2. What if I have an existing personal subscription that I want to cancel in order to take advantage of Emory's free access?
a. Call NYTimes Customer Care at 800-591-9233.
3. Once I graduate, when will my account be turned off?
a. Sept. 30 of your graduation year
4. If I’m a faculty or staff member, when will my registration expire?
a. Every 52 weeks after your initial registration, you will need to reauthenticate. When you experience hitting the paywall (e.g. articles are “locked”), just click on the registration link, click “Already have an account? Log in here,” and log in with your Emory.edu email and your existing NYTimes password. Your access will resume uninterrupted for another 52 weeks.
Psychology Librarian
Emory University
Robert W. Woodruff Library
404-712-2833
Media Critique Assignment - Stage 1
Media Critique Assignment: Thinking like a scientist about media reports on psychology of the family
Stage 1: Gathering your sources -- (Due by 10 p.m. eastern time on September 3)
1.Find a media report on a recent scientific finding that claims to be reporting on a recent publication of a research finding within psychology of the family. Some good sources include:
2. Find the published scholarly article that the media report featured.
Note: this is not always easy since media reports rarely give full citations. Sometimes (rarely) there is a link to the article. If not, you may have to do a little detective work, using your best library search skills. At this point, just find the article. Do not read it yet.
You can look up individual journals in ejournals@Emory.
You can also search for the article in databases. A few to try are:
- APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window A collection of multidisciplinary citation databases, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and more.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
3. Fill in the details on a form we will provide to you, on which you will provide:
a. The media headline
b. The internet link - the URL - to the media report
c. The full citation of the published scientific paper (APA Style)
d. A pdf of the article
Set up Google Scholar to link to Emory Libraries resources
To add a "Find It @ Emory" button that links to Emory Libraries resources in Google Scholar:
- Go to http://scholar.google.com, then the "Settings" menu, then select "Library Links."
- Search for Emory University, and select the "Find It @ Emory" box.
- Save changes.
- When you now search for articles in Google Scholar, you should see a "Find it @ Emory" link to the right of materials that we hold. Select the "Find it @ Emory" link to access Emory Libraries' materials.
- NOTE: Unlike a library database, many sources found in Google Scholar require payment before providing full text; check library holdings of journal titles in eJournals@Emory, discoverE or Interlibrary Loan before paying.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.