Art Databases
Background Resources
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowAccess a wide-variety of art resources across Oxford’s art reference works. Includes articles, visual arts, digital images, biographies, bibliographies, encyclopedias, and more.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online. Art History This link opens in a new windowGuide to scholarly literature in the field of Art History. Subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.
- Credo Reference Unlimited This link opens in a new windowCredo Ready-Reference services feature full-text, aggregated content from hundreds of reference books covering every major subject.
Getty Vocabularies
- The Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT) ®AAT is a structured vocabulary, including terms, descriptions, and other metadata for generic concepts related to art, architecture, conservation, archaeology, and other cultural heritage. Included are work types, styles, materials, techniques, and others.
- The Cultural Objects Name Authority (CONA) ®CONA compiles titles, attributions, depicted subjects, and other metadata about works of art, architecture, and other cultural heritage, both extant and historical, linked to museum collections, special collections, archives, libraries, scholarly research, and other resources. CONA is linked to the AAT, TGN, and ULAN.
- The Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names (TGN) ®TGN is a structured vocabulary, including names, descriptions, and other metadata for extant and historical cities, empires, archaeological sites, and physical features important to research of art and architecture. TGN may be linked to GIS, maps, and other geographic resources.
- The Union List of Artist Names (ULAN) ®ULAN is a structured vocabulary, including names, biographies, related people, and other metadata about artists, architects, firms, studios, museums, patrons, sitters, and other people and groups involved in the creation and study of art and architecture.