Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

Resources for Text and Data Mining

Guide to text mining resources available through Emory Libraries and the Emory Center for Digital Scholarship.

Why can't I get my data?

Reasons: Examples
Emory has a license to provide access to the database that contains your data, but the license prohibits TDM or allows it at a prohibitive price. Access World News
Emory has a license to provide access to the database that contains your data, but the owner of the database charges substantial fees for the right to TDM. Factiva
Emory does not have a license to provide access to the database that contains your data. Vogue Archive

Emory Policies for Purchasing Text Mining Materials

  • Emory regularly negotiates contracts for collections that include explicit clauses for the allowance of text/data mining, at a reasonable cost, and which allow for the creation of local backups and preservation in our digital repository. Where required, updated licenses will be requested and renegotiated.
  • The creation and preparing of such licensed materials takes time, so as much advance notice as possible is preferred so that requests can be procssed in a timely fashion.
  • Generally, we also do not provide licensing or funding for individual text-mining projects with needs not covered by university wide licenses.  Some vendors may require walled garden approaches to control and manage access to large amounts of their data. Frequently, fees are charged by the project. The library is unable to pay for project by project fees, but will attempt to negotiate with the vendor for a more institutional solution. Therefore, as noted above, we highly encourage scholars to consider grant funding in these cases.

A more thorough policy statement is on Woodruff Library's Collections site.