Palm-leaf manuscript, Telugu Mahabharata (Udyoga Parva) by Kotikalapudi Viraraghavakavi
Learning more about a topic
Bibliographies, handbooks, and encyclopedias are reference resources that can help you orient yourself to a given topic. Below, find a list of resources for learning more about South Asian civilizations.
Also check out the libguide for South Asian Studies: http://guides.main.library.emory.edu/soas
Oxford Bibliographies Online for the Study of South Asia
- Oxford Bibliographies Online for the Study of South AsiaThis link will take you to all the Oxford Bibliographies that are relevant for the study of South Asia. There are almost 1,300 bibliographies in this resource! Search for particular keywords on your topic to narrow the results.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online. Art HistoryThis link will take you to a list of Oxford Bibliographies relevant for Art History in South Asia. There are 20 bibliographies in this resource.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online. BuddhismThis link will take you to a list of Oxford Bibliographies relevant for Buddhism in South Asia. There are 149 bibliographies in this resource.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online. HinduismThis link will take you to a list of Oxford Bibliographies relevant for Hinduism in South Asia. There are 142 bibliographies in this resource.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online. Islamic StudiesThis link will take you to a list of Oxford Bibliographies relevant for Islamic Studies in South Asia. There are 84 bibliographies in this resource.
Oxford Handbooks Online for the Study of South Asia
- Oxford Handbooks Online for the Study of South AsiaOxford Handbooks are reliable reference resources to help you orient yourself to a particular topic. This link takes you to a list of more than 5,000 articles on South Asia. To narrow down the results, search by keyword on the left side of the screen, e.g. Try "Harappa" or "Indus Valley"
Oxford Reference Database
- Oxford ReferenceThis resource will take you to a variety of reference resources to help you learn more about a given topic. For example, try searching for "Ramayana".
Libguides for Studying the Religions of South Asia
This is a list of libguides (library guides) that have been crafted on particular religious traditions in South Asia. Please see each guide for a list of specific resources for their study.
