Books
Use discoverE to find books, journals, videos, government documents, microfilm collections and other materials at the Emory libraries, including Woodruff; Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library; Goizueta Business; Pitts Theology; Woodruff Health Sciences Center; McMillan Law; Science Commons; Music and Media; and Oxford libraries.
Use the Library of Congress Subject Headings to find relevant resources. Here are some examples:
- Slave Narratives
- Slave Narratives -- United States
- Slave Narratives -- United States -- History and Criticism
- Slaves' Writings
- Slaves' Writings, American
- Biography
- Fugitive Slaves -- United States -- Biography
- Autobiography
Most of the Emory libraries use the Library of Congress classification system of letters and numbers to group materials by subject. These call numbers are listed in discoverE and marked on each book. Use our call number guide to find out which floor of the library has the book you need. After you locate the book that you need, you can always browse the shelves to find other books that deal with the same subject.
Books about Slave Narratives
Look at how these books are indexed in discoverE. Click on the subject terms to find more books indexed the same way!
Beyond Douglass by ISBN: 9780838757116Publication Date: 2008-10-01
Black Women Writers and the American Neo-Slave Narrative by ISBN: 9780313308383Publication Date: 1999-03-30
Black Women Writing Autobiography by ISBN: 9780877228035Publication Date: 1990-09-07
The Cambridge Companion to Slavery in American Literature by ISBN: 9781107625983Publication Date: 2016-03-29
The Cambridge Companion to the African American Slave Narrative by ISBN: 9780521850193Publication Date: 2007-05-31
Neo-Slave Narratives by ISBN: 9780195125337Publication Date: 1999-11-04
Speaking Power by ISBN: 079146637XPublication Date: 2006-01-05
Voices of the Fugitives by ISBN: 0275967077Publication Date: 2000-07-30
Article Databases
What's in a database?
Articles: An author writes an article to submit to a journal. --- Journals: Journals review and publish selected articles --- Database: A database is a collection of journal article records - they can also contain a copy of articles. --- Vendors: Vendors, like EBSCO and Proquest, provide access to databases. --- Library: The library subscribes to these databases. --- Students: Login via the library to access these databases, journals, and articles.
Here are various databases that contain articles on slave narratives and neo-slave narratives:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window Prominent source for scholarly journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations in U.S. & Canadian history. Covers sources published from the 1960s to present.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window Contains material for black studies including essays, periodicals, reference books, the Schomburg Studies, and more.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Access scholarly journal articles, books reviews, and dissertations in modern world history (1450 to present) excluding the U.S. and Canada. Covers sources published from 1955 to present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
- Literature Online This link opens in a new window Contains resources for the study and teaching of literature in English. Access a large collection of literary works, criticism, and reference resources. Includes poetry, drama, prose fiction, and more.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, essay collections, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Includes the most recently published output of many major scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, and more.