Skip to main content

Preservation and Conservation: Home

Preservation resources

Frequently Asked About

Caring for Personal Collections

Finding a Conservator

Commercial Conservation Services for the Public
(listings here doo not imply endorsement of services)

Preservation Office and Conservation Lab

Mission: To Preserve and Protect the Emory Libraries Collections
 

The Preservation Office of the Emory Libraries was established in September 1985 to support preservation activities in all of the Emory Libraries. The Preservation staff acts as a resource for the latest conservation treatments and preservation information, maintains the disaster plan for all Emory Libraries. Additionally, the Office monitors environmental conditions and light levels to protect our collections in storage and exhibition areas in all library buildings. The Conservation Lab was established in 1987 and provides care for the physical condition of all Emory University library collections, both rare and circulating.

Staff of the Preservation Office hold active roles in local and regional preservation efforts, such as participating in the Heritage Emergency Response Alliance (HERA), the Southeast Regional Conservation Association (SERCA), and as consultants to our wider community. Nationally, our conservators are involved in the American Institute of Conservation (AIC), American Library Association (ALA), the Guild of Book Workers (GBW), participating as board members, committee chairs, and program planners.

All staff are committed to act as information resources concerning preservation and conservation issues.

 

Conservation Services to Emory Libraries

The prime responsibilities of the Conservation Lab are treatment of special collections material and physical care of the general circulating collections for all Emory Libraries.

Conservation Lab staff members provide public education, training, preventative care, and a broad range of conservation
services including:

  • Environmental monitoring of collections and exhibition areas, including 24/7 temperature and humidity data collection, light level monitoring, and pest management control
  • Emergency response, recovery, and salvage of materials damaged through flood, fire, or other disasters
  • Staff and student-assistant training in the care and handling of library materials
  • Collections condition/conservation needs assessment and preservation
    planning surveys
  • Special projects, including preparation of materials for digitization, loan, or exhibition
  • Support the Emory Libraries Exhibition Team
  • Ongoing book repair for circulating collections, including mending, spine replacement, and rebinding
  • Complex conservation treatments, such as encapsulation, deacidification, and protective enclosures for special
    collections materials

 

 

 

Recent Workshops and Educational Offerings

Spring 2018
SERCA Annual Meeting: Using Gels and Emulsions in Conservation Treatments
Richard Wolbers, keynote speaker and workshop presenter

Fall 2018
Leather Conservation Treatments
Jeff Peachey, workshop presenter

Spring 2019
SERCA Annual Meeting: Using Gels and Emulsions in Conservation Treatments
Presentations by numerous keynote speakers and workshop presenters, SERCA conservators, and Nina Roth-Wells

PLEASE REFER TO THIS PAGE OFTEN FOR MORE CURRENT
AND UPDATED WORKSHOP INFORMATION

Preservation Office Staff

Administration

Lars Meyer
Director, Access and Resource Services
(404) 727-2437
lmeyer2@emory.edu
 

 

Emory Libraries Conservation

Kim Norman
Head of Library Conservation

(404) 727-8244

kim.norman@emory.edu

 

Kirsten Wehner
Assistant Conservator
(404) 727-9042
kwehner@emory.edu

 

Julie Newton
Assistant Conservator
(404) 712-3426
jnewt01@emory.edu

 

Ephranette Brown
Conservation Technician
(404) 712-3931 

ephranette.brown@emory.edu